Community Garden Walk in Chicago…

Let me just begin by telling you guys that when I arrived in Chicago on Tuesday, it was 80 degrees.  Last night, however, I could have worn gloves and had to borrow a warm coat.  Andy was taking the dogs on a walk so I tagged along and he showed me this community garden in their neighborhood.  I am a huge fan of Chicago-style architecture and wish I had had my new camera!  These pictures are alright but they would have been much better if a) I had my new camera and b) my hands weren’t so cold that I couldn’t hold the camera steady.  Oh and also c) the sun was going down so the lighting was not ideal for picture taking.  I did manage to snag a few good shots and I still wanted to post these photographs because I plan to come back to visit my new niece in the summertime and I want to have these pictures for comparison.  Anyways, some are pretty so I hope you enjoy but sorry they aren’t as good as I usually am able to produce… my husband recently located my charger for my new camera (the reason I didn’t bring it with me on this trip).  Guess where it was?  Oh it was lying there in the middle of our bedroom floor in a plastic bag.  If it had been a snake it would have bitten me, right?  Right.  Ha.  I hope to eventually put together some sort of series of architecture I observe (since I am after all an art history major who wrote her senior thesis on a Chicago skyscraper).  Another reason I want these photographs on this blog.   I did gather some social documentary shots (I think you’ll know which ones they are) but I plan to think about these shots more and expand upon my ideas in the summer.  Woot woot!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

