Wooden Paneled Blinds & Reflections with Snow Cones

When in doubt, bust out a snow cone machine.  Thanks to Regina and her brilliant mommy entertainment ideas, the Nance’s purchased a snow cone maker for Rush and Lennon (and Ricky and I) to enjoy snow cones on a hot Atlanta summer day. Rush was refusing to cooperate with me when I asked him if I could take his picture with his bright blue snow cone.  I was a tad frustrated but he’s had a long week at the lake so I didn’t want to bother him too much.  He turned his back towards me and as he did that, I noticed a beautiful reflection in the windows facing him.  I began taking his photograph and he was cluelessly cooperating with my improvisational photo-op… until he noticed me.  With the help of my husband, we snagged a couple moments with the fam (minus Lennon).  We have these wooden paneled blinds that hang in our sun room and those combined with the reflection added a delicate and meaningfully decorative touch to all the photographs.  I tried to frame them within the single panes of glass, and some of the worked better than others.  I love photographing reflections because it seems to add a hint of romance, while softening the image, and it also gives me the ability to include myself within the compositions if i wish.  I enjoy these photographs because the wooden blinds are behind the glass, rather than casting a shadow atop the glass surface.  It gives me pleasure to produce a contemporary renaissance window allusion that frames portraits of my children and objects within our surroundings.  Reflective shots are usually unplanned photo-opportunities that arise out of glancing at a window.  There is a delicate glow upon the surface that fills the negatives space with linear, wooden lines.  The wooden panels fragment the subjects and play with the eye as the eye almost becomes a lens attempting to focus.  I love that they are not perfectly planned nor perfect in resolution.

I think about the history of photographic portraiture each (and painted portraits) time I take photographs of my children.  It is sometimes hard for me to document from a far because I wish to be so intimately involved in the moment as I shoot their facial expressions and spirituality. Photography has become more of a passion than a hobby at this point and I look forward to the future.  I never knew the extent to which photography could be used as an art form and ability to create unique view-points.  But as I’m done editing each batch of photographs, I realize I’m becoming addicted to this art.  I can’t wait to look back in a year or so and begin to create complete series.  For the time being, I’ll leave them to viewed more like slideshows of albums… unless I feel as if I’ve completed a set.  Of all that I’ve photographed thus far, I’m drawn to the complicated portraits involving reflections and the social documentations of my home city, Atlanta.  Glass and fabric have become my muses, along with the organic nature of photographing movement.  These photographs are still, however, but they are albums of my family and I wish to preserve them as pieces of my soul compiled into fragments of tender moments; moments locked into permanency with an obvious sense of ephemerality.  There will probably be a couple more posts tonight… still haven’t worked out how exactly to plan my blog posts… one post a day is sometimes hard but I do not want to overwhelm and bore any viewers.  I want to give viewers enough time to view these photographs and enjoy them in full, rather than try to glimpse through an overwhelming amount all at once.  Any suggestions?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

