Observing the East Roswell Disc Golf Course

Recently, I have found joy in accompanying my husband on his disc golf adventures.  It is his passion and I intend to support and document his career, wherever it may go in the future.  After receiving my new Canon Rebel t3i for graduation, I have been less afraid and more willing to explore nature first hand.  I love finding things to photograph on these excursions because it allows me to understand the earth and what comes along with each environment I explore.  For instance, this year alone I began photographing trees.  I always knew there were many trees out there but, until exploring them with my camera, for a time, I’m beginning to understand our trees more.  I feel like they know all the secrets are are wise with age.  They can tell us when it’s about to storm if you take the time to listen to their branches and leaves as they sway in the wind.  Kind of reminds me of the trees that help out in the Lord of the Rings trilogy.  And each tree is unique to the environment it stands in (natively speaking, I’m aware of the import trees), and so is the soil the tress stand upon.  Statesboro is not far from the coast… I forget the exact term for where topographically it is located, but I know the soil there is very sandy and very different from Atlanta soil.  The soil on this course was a tad sandy but, here, it was mostly covered in pine straw.  The sport of disc golf is fabulous because it integrates nature into its sport, unlike ball golf whose courses are paved into the land; usually, in a country club setting.  Ball golf takes money to play; lots of money.  Disc golf is free to play and you play along trail paths marked out by tees and pins.  It’s like going on a hike, while playing a game.  Pretty cool idea… whoever came up with it.  These photographs are things I observed as I was walking along the trails.  I also find myself thinking about orientation while on these courses.  I would be absolutely lost if it weren’t for Ricky and Josh accompanying me.  I often think about how this land was used historically in the past… what history taints its soil?  How did humans navigate the land hundreds of years ago.  I feel the lost Native American spirit within our country’s soil.  The tie to the land has been lost in our contemporary world.  We are so caught up in technology and separating ourselves from the “dirty” and “bug-friendly” earth that it’s almost as if we have forgotten where we came from.  We weren’t born into cities; we created them to replace nature.  It feels great to walk around land that has been preserved and untouched by developers who place the same chain crap along ever corner and in every city or town.  Individuality has been lost in many places… not good for tourism.  Who wants to go travel around our country where everything is beginning to look more similar and inhabit the same stuff that one has in their own hometown?

Right before the trailer hole, I noticed these incredibly magical trees that granted shelter beneath them.  Vines hung over them like a fishing net, which opened like a curtain and pulled back to reveal a place of rest beneath its limbs.  I tried to capture the magical feeling I felt as I formed an emotional bond with these beautiful trees.  I also found myself observing parts to trees… like pinecones and seedlings that fall from trees, as well as beautiful leaves.  I photographed rocks that had been spray-painted to mark the tees along the course and piles of rocks I noticed along the boundaries.  Feel free to make any comment or give feedback!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Let me know what you are thinking :)

