Broken Window? More like Stained Glass Color Splash :)

Who needs glass and stained glass making skills to create a stained glass composition?  NOT ME! HA!

A Broken Circus of Color. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 X 10 inches.

When I was a child, I used to love it whenever my mother bought me one of those stained glass kits from Michael’s, where you paint the glass and can hang it with a suction thingy on your window.  Anyways, they are fun for kids but I remember being frustrated I couldn’t make mine look like a real stained glass window I’d see in church.  Welp, little did i know it wasn’t really glass and the paint was really cheap.  Plus, I didn’t really know how to paint nor did I have any color theory knowledge.  If you are a frequent reader of this blog (or you are a member of my family), I posted a blog awhile ago containing photographs of a broken window taken at my mother in-law’s lake house at Lake Oconee.  Well, after finally taking the time and patience to learn PhotoShop, I decided to manipulate these photographs.  I had played around with the sand enough and decided to move forward to something similar, but different in terms of subject matter.  I took these photographs and added gradients and color burned them and added other filters until they turned out the way they did.

A famous Atlanta interior designer, Debbie Anderson, once told me (ha she probably doesn’t remember telling me this but I’m going to quote her anyways), “Polly, you are not a vanilla or chocolate girl.  You are a cinnamon spice kind of girl.” Haha!  I took that as one of the greatest compliments I’ve ever received.  Anyways, my point is I love color.  And I like patterns.  A.  Lot.  A.  Whole.  Whole.  Lot.  My childhood was filled with bright colors and, although my color taste has matured somewhat over time, I still tend to go for COLOR in almost everything I create.  If I do create in black and white or raw umber tones, I aim for high contrast.  That is just my preference, or maybe my style?  These photographs are an attempt to be fun and mesmerizing all at the same time.  I want them to read as playful, yet keep your eye wondering about the compositions.  I love feedback so feel free to let me know which ones you like, work better than others, etc.  Come on peeps, I know my peeps can make comments. 🙂 Ha jk.  But leave a comment if you feel compelled to do so PLEASE! 🙂

A Stained Hand Silhouette in Fourth of July. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Peace Love in the Limelight. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x10 inches.

The Tie-Dyed Bullet Hole Extravaganza. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Disc Golf Tie-Dyed Tide Enhances the Cracked View. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Cracked Glass in Retina Scan. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

14 thoughts on “Broken Window? More like Stained Glass Color Splash :)

  1. Love the shattered glass images =) One small comment to your blog layout, the backdrop is quite stressfull, especially when scrolling, having a simple background would make your colorful images stand out better 😉

  2. Pingback: Rockin’ theTie-Dyed Rock Formations… « WatchingThePhotoReelsGoRoundAndRound…

  3. In looking at these photos, I thought “fractured light…and color”. The textures are quite unique! Good to have you come by and like my post…

Let me know what you are thinking :)

