Some Psychedelic Algae

I started working on these photographs about a month ago after creating my tie-dyed sand photographs through PhotoShop.  I soon moved on to other things after receiving Lightroom.  However, since I am currently working on other things, I decided to finally post these.  They are just fun and meant to hopefully bring some color into your life.  They were taken on Fripp Island, South Carolina.  You can see the originals in my earlier posts about Fripp Island… I went wild with these folks.  I love it when a photograph possesses an exorbitant amount of vibrance and contrast.  I played around with these in PhotoShop and then added a few Lightroom treatments to them as well.  Hope you enjoy!

The Multi-Colored Stepped Radar of Algae. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Disc Golfin’ Lagoon

Psychedelic Algae. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Algae’s Latest Target Practice Range. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Tie-Dyed Ripples of Algae Water. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

11 thoughts on “Some Psychedelic Algae

  1. Hi, love the photos. Especially the tie-dye algae water, the disc golf lagoon and psychedelic algae…would be a great set to frame. Love the colors and the water. Really cool.

  2. I like the vibrance and the intentional contrast between reality and surrealness. Beautifully processed, Polly!

    p.s. Thanks for your visits to my blog. I just added some photog notes to the latest post – since you’re into processing, I thought you might get a kick out of reading them.

    -Ray

    • Thank you so much! I worked longer than I probably should have on these but I’m glad because it sounds like it paid off… I tried to make them look surreal without taking away from their representational form. It makes me so happy you that you got that :). I appreciate your feedback and I am a big fan of your site! I’ll be sure to check out your latest post about processing…

Let me know what you are thinking :)

