Florence + the Machine iPhone Fun

The Glowing Spectacle of Florence + the Machine. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

So… this is why I need a backstage pass to take accurately rad photographs of my favorite bands! How cool would that job be?… to travel and photograph bands for a living… sounds like a pretty good job to me! 🙂 Cameras were not allowed at the Fox theatre in Atlanta, Georgia to see Florence + the Machine… so this is all my iPhone had to offer.  Oh, how I wish I had been allowed to bring a camera because my husband, friend and I were sitting on the front row (well, we were on the front row but special people who paid lots of money or were just plain special got to sit in the orchestra pit in front of us)!!! Oh, well… stupid rules but I guess THEY have their reasons.  I could not NOT sit there and NOT take photographs… if that too-many-negatives sentence made any sense.

The Girl with a Cool Tattoo that Sat in Front of Me. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Florence Sings Under a Curtain of Starry Light. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Florence + the machine had this incredible fabric backdrop that glowed all different colors, depending on how the lights were shining upon it.  These photographs are more expressive, I guess you could say, than all my other photographs on this blog so far.  I do not mean expressive in terms of great intellectual depth… but expressive as in the fact that they were not clear, and I made the best of what I could make out of them.  I just thought I would post these as a fun filler, while I continue working on other photographs.  Let me know what you think!  Out of all of these, I have three favorites that I think best describes my experience of the show… grainy iPhone pixelation and all. My top favorite is the photograph posted above this text.  The other two will be posted below first, followed by the rest in this series.  Too bad for camera bans, but I still love the way the backdrop glows and how the stage light looks like a grainy, transparent curtain that covers Florence.

Florence Charms the Audience with Notes through a Rosy Microphone. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches. 

A Harp in Blue. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Purple Florence Fabric Backdrop. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The iPhone’s New Zoom Feature Kinda Sucks. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

It was an incredible night and an incredible show!  Very theatrical… very TWIRLy… Very dark… Very seductive… very green… very… very just… well, absolutely crazy insane in the membrane with a beautiful dark twist.  I don’t know… I told my husband I’d be ok with him leaving me for Florence for a night… that I would totally understand.  As long as he came home to me in the morning!  Ha. I’m a freak (but in a good way… well, at least from my point of view, I think it’s in a good way).  Anyways, enough with the jibber jabber chitter chatter… I leave you alone with Florence + the Machine.  ONE more fun fact before I close: Florence’s mother and grandmother were/are art historians… we have so much in common… or I mean, I feel that is very much an influence upon her music and I LOVE her for that.  And her band too.  My favorite band. Ever. And. For. Eva. Eva. Up there with the Beatles. Peace love, my dear friends. 🙂

Playin’ tha Harp Brilliantly in the A. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Florence is Purple. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Florence’s Fabric in Blue Light. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Ambiance of Florence + the Machine. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

11 thoughts on “Florence + the Machine iPhone Fun

  1. The colorful blurred silhouette photo of her by herself is amazing. Somehow you need to try to sell it to her to use as an album cover or something. Do something with it!

    • Ha!… You just made my night! No, but seriously speaking, how would I even go about that? She probably has gobs of people knocking down her door to show her photographs. Twas a lovely dream though 😉

  2. As most gig togs will tell you Polly, photographing the concert is usually one big nightmare, especially as all act seem to love RED!
    Having said that, and considering you only had your iPhone, you did exceptionally well. I have trouble taking pics with my iPhone in daylight!!
    Joseph is right in one respect. You van find out who Florences’ management are through the venue. Then speak to the management and ask for an address where you can send a cd of some pics you took, explaining that you don’t want anything in return AND that they were taken on the phone. What have you got to loose? Remind me to tell you the story of a tog friend and Bob Dylan’s first London gig at the Royal Albert Hall.
    regards

    • Ok I’m reminding you :). I need to hear the Bob Dylan story… I am a HUGE fan of his also. I can’t wait to hear this! I’ll see what I can do about the Florence pic… Might be fun and yall are right, I don’t really have anything to lose!

  3. Nicely done! Concert photography isn’t always the easiest, especially if you have imited equipment. Let it be said again though…it is the photographer that makes the image, not the camera. You can do incredible things with limited resources as long as you’ve got the eye, which you certainly do! I enjoyed these pictures!

    If you’re looking to get into concert photography, try starting with your local non-profit theatres or concert halls. I work at a performing arts venue and I can give you a few pointers if you’d like! I’ve recently started doing some concert photography for the theatre in addition to my fulltime job there. It’s a great deal of fun to be able to capture a live performance. I’d be glad to share more information with you! Just give me a shout and I’ll be glad to share some pointers and some tips about how to get involved with this on a bigger level.

    Cheers to you and take care! 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

