Tree Bark and Wills Park

Ricky Walks Through Light and Shadows to Take a Shot. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Just Another Day of Disc Golf Observin’:

I took these photographs the other day while my husband and his friend Josh were playing a round of disc golf at Wills Park in Alpharetta, Georgia.  My husband is a big disc golfer and plays in tournaments and such… in case you were wondering why I always post about the sport. 🙂 There are two different sets of photographs included below… photographs of my husband and Josh playing the sport and photographs of trees.  This course was beautiful and, because of the amazingly large and gorgeous trees, I found myself taking more shots of trees than disc golf.  I did, however, manage to snag a few action shots that I thought were worthy of posting.  I edited these in Lightroom again and found myself playing around with light and shadows in each composition.  I am a high contrast fanatic, as those of you who have read my previous posts probably know already, so I tried to emphasize and dramatize the lighting so that the forms would look richer and more dramatic; while also trying to pull out and enhance the intensity of the sport… From first hand experience, if you bring up the subject of disc golf around the average person, who has never seen the sport played by advanced or professional players, it soon becomes inspiration for comedic material.  In other words, people laugh at the sport.  I used to be one of those people.  But I changed my attitude and outlook once I experienced a PDGA sanctioned tournament.  Yep.  You heard me right.  There is such a thing as PDGA.  I love this sport, though, and hope that through these photographs and other posts on the sport, I will open peoples mind to the sport.  I want my photographs to demonstrate the incredible skills needed to be considered “good.”

Intensity Drives the Drive. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Light at the Release. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Josh Makes a Good Putt. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Hmmmm… I’ll Take It. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Here is where one set ends and another begins… And now, for my photographs of disc golfin’ trees.  I love accompanying my husband on these disc golf excursions because it opens my eyes to nature and how we are truly all connected to everything.  I hope you know what I mean and, if you don’t, I hope these photographs will help you at least see what I mean.  I chose to render these in black and white because, as I have said in previous posts, I find black and white to create incredible contrast, while evoking a sense of nostalgia at the same time.  I want them to glow vividly.  I have definitely been influenced by the photographers I emulated for a college photography project and so, I turned to Sally Mann and Man Ray for inspiration in these compositions.  But I wanted some of them to be darker, more mystical, and others to be filled with light (with tiny dabbles of darkness).  Trees have got to be wise.  They have been on the earth for a LONG ass time.  Most people don’t take them time to observe them closely, either.  I think we take our trees for granted these days.  Ya can’t breathe without healthy trees ya know?!  Anyways, the terrain was definitely sandy on this course and I wanted to emphasize that point by adding a hint of grainy-ness to their appearance.  Wood and sand, both, are grainy after all. And these trees (and disc golf course) were also located on the banks of a creek.  The holes basically followed the creek for the majority of the course. Included below are close ups of tree bark, which I hope the eye will be mesmerized by and, therefore, be forced to stare at all the emphasized lines and crevices.  Bark is thick stuff and I love how it is shed.  It is the skin of a tree.  Flesh just like our flesh… although a different material.  But, it still possesses similarities to human flesh.  A tree is alive and continuously growing.  Even some of the fallen trees were still continuing to to thrive (although from a new perspective… the horizontal view point.

The Land of Disc Golf. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Disc Golf Trees and Their Roots. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Land of Disc Golf Enlightened. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Old Tree is Wise. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Bleached Spider Web Trees. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Tree’s Opening. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I hope you enjoy these photographs and please feel free to leave any comments.  I love feedback!  Peace, love until my next post, dear friends.

Flesh of the Tree. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Close Up of a Tree’s Opening. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

We Are All Connected to Trees. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Dirt of the Earth on a Plate-Shifty Day. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

In Bark We Trust. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

5 thoughts on “Tree Bark and Wills Park

  1. I’m a huge fan of textures in photographs (it’s why I always zoom in on my food – so your bark pictures are lovely!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I hope I see you there again 🙂

  2. Hi Polly
    Enjoyed the blog, and I must say this is the first time I have heard of disc golf. I can see how it can be a fun game.
    I am also keen on high contrast and high key. However, not all the time and not every shot. I think we (your readers) could well be missing out on some of the beautiful colours in your area (just a thought, it’s not a criticism).
    I also love trees, and although my passion is wildlife photography, that does include all things wild including flowers and trees. Since retiring in October 2010 from Commercial Photography and Marketing, I can now spend some valuable time with my wife and my wildlife photography.
    I was recently in area of the UK called Herefordshire, and more precisely The Golden Valley, I have some pics on my blog from there. However, I also have some great tree pics which are yet to be posted. There is one particular tree that was in the same place when Henry VIII passed by about 500 years ago. He was stopping just up the road with, I think, one of the wives’ Lady in Waiting who came from Dore, which is a mile from where I took the tree pic.
    I am currently up in the Hills of Wales at the moment photographing red kites, but as soon as I get the chance I’ll dig out some trees (not literally of course).
    I am in the process of linking blogs with selected photographers, and I would be really pleased if you linked up with us. I am still relatively new to blogging, having failed on a number of previous occasions, but now I have a little more time, I am going to make the effort.
    Regards

    • Hey thanks for the WONDERFUL feedback and comment! At the moment, I am studying Lightroom… so that is why all the high contrast photographs… just something I was playing around with. But, I think you have a good point that i miss out on the color when I choose to render in a high contrast form… I will take that advice to heart for the future :). I would LOVE to see the photograph of the Henry VIII tree!!! I love history and have studied a lot of history involving good ole Henry and all. Thank you again for taking the time to write such a thoughtful comment. I would love to link up with y’all… not sure really how to do that either (I’m fairly new as well to the blogging world) but when you figure it all out let me know or link me up! Thanks again!

      P.S. I am jealous of all your lovely travels 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

