Misty Days at Decatur Square and a Barber Shop

A Semi-Serious Haircut Moment. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

These are photographs of my two children, Rush and Lennon, taken on the same hot summery day in Atlanta, Georgia.  This was one of those days that Mommy and Daddy let their kids skip daycare school so we could all play hooky together. 🙂 Our first stop was the Barber Shop that my husband frequents… we used to take Rush to one those kid barber shops, where they children can sit in chairs shaped like airplanes or cars… that was fun for a first time haircut moment, but waaaay too busy of a place and waaaay to overpriced.  My husband has recently started a new tradition, where Rush accompanies him to the Barber Shop, and they both get their haircuts together.  This was the first time I had ever stepped foot in the barber shop and boy did it bring back childhood memories. I can’t remember if there was one of those twirly, red-and-white striped barber lantern thingies outside the shop or not (excuse the informal talk… but I forget what those are called :)).  It didn’t really matter anyhow because the smock they draped over Rush was striped just the same.

Little Lennon Wants Her Hair Cut Also. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

It felt really REALLY nice to step inside a small business and get small business service for a small business price.  And his haircut turned out great (you can see the after results in the photographs taken at Decatur Square below)!  Maybe I’m slightly nostalgic for the good ole days when I used to accompany my brother to get his haircut at the barber shop he went to… but I dig the atmosphere there.  Just good people working hard to cut hair for a living.  Lennon observed her brother patiently, but I could tell she was dying to get her hair cut also.  She wants to do everything her brother does at the moment… she even wants to wear his underwear over her diapers and sleep in his pajamas.  She is too cute.  I wanted these barber shop photographs to look slightly vintage, a little color-faded, but still full of vibrance.  If that makes any sense.  The best part about Rush getting his haircut at a barber shop, where there aren’t 10 screaming kids waiting in line to get their haircuts with their brothers and sisters accompanying them, is that Rush LOVES it!  He feels like a big boy because he is with his daddy doing what his daddy does.  I cannot believe he is already three years old!  Sheesh… where does the time go?!

The Moment Before Rush Lost His Bangs. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Classic Barber Shop Haircut. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.
The next photographs were taken later in the day, after eating lunch at The Brick Store in Decatur, Georgia.  There is a misting fountain that sits in the middle of Decatur Square, and is a favorite spot of kids and families who live nearby the area.  It is also a favorite spot for those in need of quick refresher from the summer heat.  It is somewhat small, but a fun gem to visit over and over again.  However, the kids to cry and scream when it is time to leave.  I took ALL of these photographs with my iPhone (probably should have mentioned that earlier in this post), but I love taking photographs with my iPhone if I do not have my Canon Rebel t3i with me.  It snaps photographs much quicker than my point-and-shoot, so I am slowly starting to love it… I think it gives excellent lighting to pictures taken outdoors… but, by excellent, I mean more artistic and charming lighting.

A Natural Poser in Ultraviolet. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Big Boy Sees. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I think the iphone makes the photographs turn out grainy, and somewhat nostalgic in quality.  I also added some Lightroom touches to these… because I tend to have to edit iPhone photographs more than with my good camera… but it helps me experiment when pictures do not look perfect as shot, and I end up rendering photographs that I probably would never have if it weren’t for the down-grade in quality that I’m used to.  Just an interesting thought I had to throw in there… especially, since I have multiple posts involving iPhone photographs that I seem to be getting compliments on… maybe it fits my style more?  Haha… I will still always use both cameras because I hate lugging my nice expensive camera around with potentially fussy children.  I thought these portraits of my children turned out beautifully and really showcase my childrens’ spirits at this age and at this point in the day at this point in their lives.  I played around with color and black and white for these.  Please feel free to leave feedback… I greatly appreciate any feedback and advice/critiques I can get!  Thank you for reading!  Peace, love until the next post, my dear friends.

Pebbles Visits Decatur Square. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Lennon Wishes She Was a Big Girl. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.


15 thoughts on “Misty Days at Decatur Square and a Barber Shop

  1. I love those photos. Reading your blog made me feel like I was there and I WANTED to be there with y’all. You are a talented writer and photographer!

  2. I like the haircut, it’s what I would call a ‘proper’ haircut. One of my pet hates is, when I see young children 3 – 8 with all these weird hairstyles, some spikey on top, some shaved to the bone on the sides etc. I don’t think it’s fair on the kids, I mean to say, they have no say in the matter, it’s what their parents want! Imagine what they will ay when they are older and the family album comes out?

    I like the sound of the kids barbers shop. I don’t think we have anything like that in the UK. If we do I haven’t seen any yet. From memory it is still the short plank of wood seated across the two arms of the the big chair.

    Nice post Polly, and two lovely children. Cherish the moment as they grow up sooo quickly. My middle boy (of three) is Jozif, he lives in London and is coming home to see us for a week before jetting off to NY and Chicago for a few days. I’m not sure if I mentioned before he is the DJ Music Producer and he has gigs over there. His mum and I still call him ‘Little Joe’ he is 6′ 2″ and 31 years old and we love him to death, as we do all of em!
    OK, better go and do some stuff.

    Regards
    Mark

    • Thank you again for the thoughtful feedback and comment! The first three years of my son’s life has flown by… I know he’ll be 31 before I know it! Wow, your son sounds awesome… anything i would know or could google.. I love music afterall 🙂 And all kinds! These moments are SO precious… I try to document everything, which is a bit crazy and obsessive but I have my memories permanently (unless something happens to all my files)! Could i ask you a question (you don’t have to share if you don’t feel comfortable) but I was just wondering when you started being called a “professional” photographer… I feel like I’m a tad late (since I’m almost 30) in the game… but I feel as if anything is possible if you work hard enough and want it badly enough :). Oh and yes, the kids barber shop is a cool idea, but in Atlanta they are all really snazzy and expensive… but extremely cute. The one we used to go to had a great market strategy… they had expensive toys for sale and expensive candy for sale right by the waiting area… and you always had to wait and there was always a long line… twas an expensive adventure every time unless you are a magical parent that can stop his or her kid from throwing a temper tantrum in public. 🙂 Thank you again for your awesome comments! I feel as if I can learn a great many things from you and all your camera experience. I really really appreciate you taking the time to be so thoughtful. I have no clue what I’m doing 🙂

  3. Well, you asked for feedback, so here goes.

    I think you’ve achieved the vintage you look you were seeking, but I have a couple of suggestions. It’s clear that you’ve photoshopped these, maybe a bit too clear. I’ve always had a predilection for photos that stand on their own as much as possible. I’m a photographer after all, not a digital artist, nor am I in the business of photo restoration. I only mention it because your intro suggests you want to ne a photographer, too, not a graphic designer. Anyway, the final product ultimately is only as good as what goes in.

    I think you’re shooting with a wide angle for some of [her] close-ups, and this provides an unpleasant perspective – bloated, which is magnified by the dodging you did on her face. The most flattering portraits are shot in the 100 mm range. It doesn’t have to be that, but a wide angle at the short end simply is less appealing.

    Finally (and then you can rid of me), you seem stuck in”The Box”. Every shot is centered, or includes the whole subject (face, head, etc.) and the accompanying “sense of place” structures.

    My suggestion is to shoot more with your feelings and less with your head. You want to break out from the pack if you want a career doing this, unless you want to become a wedding and portrait photographer (sorry, people). Try different angles, heights, perspectives, focal lengths. Get in CLOSE, crop in with the viewfinder – not PS, make your shooting intimate.

    Well, sorry if you feel bruised. I have the advantage of complete objectivity and a glass of wine. 🙂

    I hope you find this more…provocative, at least, then the usual “Nice photo.”

    murph

  4. Great images, they will be treasures to you in the future! I’ve been taking my son (now 5 yrs old) to the barber with the twirly thingy outside since he was 3 as well. He loves it, to this day he gets all kinds of excited about going to get a haircut.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

