It’s Raining! It’s Pouring! On My Front Steps!

THE VIEW OF MY FRONT STEPS DURING THE POURING RAIN YESTERDAY:

Pools of Raindrops over Puddles of Reflections. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

These photographs were taken mid-day yesterday ,while it was pouring rain outside.  I’ve been wanting to tkae photographs of rain and raindrops, but I wasn’t sure how I was to go about doing this without getting my camera wet (besides me shooting through the window).  I stepped outside to watch the storm, and I saw an incredible sight worth photographing.  My front steps are made out of stone (not sure what type), so the water was pooling on top of edge step as the rain was falling heavily.  I found the reflections to be beautiful and vividly clear.  There is also some algae on our steps (they need a good pressure-washing), but the green added some flavor to the sandstone hues.  Luckily, the stoop leading to my front steps is covered, so I had great coverage while shooting these images.  I took multiple angles and multiple viewpoints of the reflections I saw.  The wrought iron railing, flanking the steps, added a piece of geometric architecture to some of the compositions and made for a nice contrast against the soft hues of the stone. I love the thick, diagonal lines that graced the water’s surface with its presence.  This is the first set of photographs in a series of posts to come this week involving views of the pouring rain … and they are all different takes on the rain.  I love photographing on overcast or rainy days because the greens in the earth glow so vibrantly.  I feel as if mother nature is fighting back humanity in her battle to cleanse the earth and rid it of human-related filth.  These shots were just for fun but I thought some of them turned out beautifully.  Please feel free to leave feedback… I sincerely appreciate it!

A Whole New World of Diagonal Greens. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Drip, Drip, Dropin’ on My Front Steps. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

If One Looks Close Enough, One May Find a New Perspective. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Some Wet Steps Gettin’ Rained On. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Downward Stepped Angle of Rain. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Wet, Steppy Patterns of Drip Drops. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Why is There a Leaf Shaped Like an Arrow Directing Me Down the Steps. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Impression of  a Riany Day Tree Reflection. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Rain Renders a Green Tree. Polly Nance. PhotoShop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY TO VISIT MY BLOG.  FEEL FREE TO BROWSE AROUND THE ARCHIVES.  PEACE, LOVE UNTIL NEXT TIME, MY DEAR BLOGGING FRIENDS! 🙂

19 thoughts on “It’s Raining! It’s Pouring! On My Front Steps!

  1. These are cool! For the next ones, I’d love to see some from another angle, like if you sat or laid on the porch (where it’s dry, of course) and got a different perspective of the puddles. These are great though!

    • You are right, I probably could have used more angles etc… my only excuse is that i was limited to what I could do in that space… but oh, well… it’ll have to wait until another stormy day! Thank you for stopping by!

  2. This is indeed a great series, i love the tree’s flowing lines hanging out with the straight lines of the railing.

    I love the shots of your kids too, what cuties and great processing.

    Your blog takes forever to load for me, while I know my connection isn’t at all fast this seems extremely slow

    • Thank you for letting me know about the slow loading… mine is loading pretty slow as well… I’ll try and fix that (although, I’m not sure how to go about that… but I’m going to figure it out… might take me a minute). Thanks for the comment and so glad you liked these. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Wow, these are just superb. I’ve also got such a thing for photographing everything rain related – even though I’ve never taken a shot I’m completely happy with. Have you tried some of these in b&w so btw, seeing that there’s some really nice shadows to make use of.

    • Thank you! I actually set out to make them all black and white, but once the greens and stone colors washed away, the pictures looked lifeless… the patterns were beautiful though but I missed the soft earth tones. I might work on that though 🙂 I do love a black and white photograph! Photographing the rain is a challenge, but it’s fun. Thank you for your comment and for stopping by!

  4. Hi Polly thanks for stopping by and “liking” my Havana article. I thought I would look at your blog too and am glad to have found it! These are beautifully enchanting shots.

  5. Thanks for stopping by.
    I like this series too. Just my kind of thing really.

    Your page has taken a long time to load here too.
    I’m on a slow connection though and if there are too many posts/pictures on the page thats how it goes.

  6. I love the rain! Not all the time you understand, but when it does, and it really belts it down. I think of all the good it is doing, washing down the streets, watering the gardens etc.
    I have just returned with my wife from a caravan week up in the Welsh Hills, oh boy! Talk about rain…at one time we thought the roof of the caravan was gonna cave in, but it didn’t and it looked nice and clean and sparkly next day! :-0)
    BTW for what it’s worth your blog loads instantaneously on my Mac Power Pro desktop and certainly no different to anyone else’s blog.

    I’m still looking for subscribers for my blog if anyone is interested please.
    http://www.magone10.wordpress.com

  7. I did some rain photos over the past few days as well and of course, I am also worried about my camera. I explained how I keep it dry in a comment to fellow German blogger, but only in German. 😉

    I simply stuff my camera into a ziplock bag. The kind you use for freezing vegetables. I checked it is a clear bag, not blue or anything and has at least one side without prints. The plastic strip of the ziplock keeps the bag open on the lens side. The picture looks a bit blurred in the viewfinder, but it’s not too bad. Lenses and buttons can be operated through the bag as well.

    In the middle of a serious downpour I ended up with a few droplets on the zoom lens set because I wasn’t too careful. I was a lot wetter …

Let me know what you are thinking :)

