Every Shade Tells a Story


A Sunglass-Tinted Summer Sky View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches.

These photographs were taken this past weekend at Fripp Island, South Carolina.  My husband and I finally found a weekend to unwind and take the opportunity to invite a few friends to the beach.  It was a weekend without kids or responsibilities.  And what a fantastic time it was (although I missed my kids of course)!  The last time I went to Fripp, I found myself taking photographs of nearly everything I saw, and the result was an overwhelming amount of subject matter with little focus.  Since I had already gotten that out of my system, I found myself this time taking more thoughtful shots (or what I believe to be more thoughtful shots).  I wore these aviator sunglasses to the beach that produced amazing reflections of everything I was viewing.  I struggled to capture images without the camera in them every single time, since I was pointing the camera at my own face and shooting.  But I love how the camera pops in these every now and then, as if to let you know it is I who is taking the photograph and not someone else… a glimmer of a self-portrait.  I received a lot of funny looks from onlookers who probably thought I was a tad egotistical and strange (taking photograph after photograph of my own face), but I managed to capture some great images of the time I was spending with my friends at that specific moment.  I was not bothered by the stares because I knew they could not see what I could nor could they read my mind.  Haha!  Anyways, most of these are reflections via my aviators, but there are a couple of my friend Lindsey’s glasses and sunglasses.  I tried to vary up the viewpoints and subject matter in order to make this set more interesting.  I wanted the viewer to feel the serenity and the peacefulness and intensity of the summer sky upon the beach.  For me, there is no greater feeling than relaxing on the beach and I wanted to isolate this moment from crowds on the beach and share it… although, the crowds were minimal since this is a private island and school has started back.  I hope you enjoy these photographs and please feel free to leave any and all feedback!

A Black and White Vision of Fripp Island. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Fragments of a Self-Portrait Reflection. Polly Nance. 6 x 4 inches.

A Dip in the Pool Reflects a Spotty Image of Laziness. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Sunbathing on the Beach in Black and White. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Striped Beach Towel Completes the Image. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Eyes over Trees and a Golf Course. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches.

Ricky Drinks a Beer on the Beach. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches.

A Silhouette and an Eye on the Fripp Beach. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Palm Trees and Aviators Reflect the Peaceful Afternoon Sky. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches.

Flesh and Lenses. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Reflection of Reflecting. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches.

Camera and Lens Eyes. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Self-Portrait over an Unselfish Eyeball. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ MY BLOG AND VIEW THESE PHOTOGRAPHS. 

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS!

36 thoughts on “Every Shade Tells a Story

  1. POLLY!! This may be one of the coolest posts I have ever seen!!! What an awesome idea, just fabulous. You came by my blog today which I truly appreciate. I will add yours to my favs for sure. Wow!

  2. Hi Polly! I love your photos…I just started taking photos (am in the process of organizing and such) and love pics of reflections. Very cool! And thanks for reading my first “official” blog entry 🙂 I look forward to seeing your work!

    • Haha! Well, I think your ten year old sounds pretty awesome :)! Thanks for stopping by and thank you for the awesome feedback… I must now ask my three year old what he thinks! I love what comes out of a three year old’s head when asked a question. Thank you for your awesome feedback! Come back again!

  3. I enjoyed the way your pictures play with perception and perspective. And thanks for your like on my post on my MairImages blog!

  4. I thin this is a great little series of photographs. Both cool and fun. Of the pictures in the post the ones I like the best are the fifth from the top (Sunbathing on the Beach in Black and White) – I love the black and white quality of the picture as well as the framing, and then the ninth from the top (A Silhouette and an Eye on the Fripp Beach) – just a completely new way of seeing a picture, really surprising.

    By the way thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday. Fun that you liked the latest posting.

  5. Really like some of those. It might just be my imagination but there’s a bit of naughtiness in there too as there’s quite a lot of flesh in some of the relfections! No complaints.

    • Not really… I am a female who wears a bathing suit to the beach like other females do. So when I snap photos of myself at the beach, of course they show flesh. I’m sorry they are being read that way. That is not meant to be the focus but they reflect the beach and beaches are fleshy. Thank you for feedback.

    • It’s totally cool… I just don’t want people thinking I’m sitting there creating naughty pics of myself cause I couldn’t see what I was taking photos of and maybe there is too much of myself in those frames there. I don’t mind hinting a lil about sexuality but I really don’t want these to be read in a naughty way though. No worries! Hope I didn’t come across too defensive… I just really don’t want people thinking of these as naughty. That being said, I am grateful for your feedback. Perhaps they are too fleshy. Youve given me a lot to think about. Thank you and please stop by again 🙂

      • Oh dear – my initial comment wasn’t meant to suggest anything negative – simply that I liked the photos and that as there was the reflection of a body in a few of them, that, for me, made it all the nicer. I didn’t mean to objectify or make you uncomfortable. I admire the human form and like seeing glimpses of it in photographs, irrelevant of its clothed state. For me part of enjoying a photograph is spotting the details that mean something to me.

        Please don’t think any more of it than that – I don’t think you should change your images or their content. Everyone sees something different in an image – that’s part of the joy!

      • I’m sorry if I misunderstood your comment earlier. I really do appreciate the comments and feedback… I was never offended, just pondering outloud as a confused artist :). I’m glad you like the fleshy forms. Just wanted to make sure they were being read correctly is all… This is an evolving process for me and I write my thoughts out without thinking about how they are going to be taken. Thank you for your insight and for clarifying what you meant. Perhaps I just misunderstood 🙂

  6. Pingback: Piedmont Park: Aviators and iPhones « WatchingThePhotoReelsGoRoundAndRound…

Let me know what you are thinking :)

