A Rebel with a Reflective Cause

A Rebel with a Lightbulb Cause. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

HOWDY FOLKS!

These are more photographs I took at our beach house last weekend.  If you’ve read my last two previous posts, they are rendered with a similar mindset.  And if you haven’t read them and are just now stumbling upon this bloggy post, you might be interested in reading them… or you might not. 🙂  I have apparently become obsessed with reflections.  But I think reflections reveal a lot about the world; for I am observing the world from a different, and more thoughtful angle that is rich with subject matter to capture.  I couldn’t decide whether to split these photographs into separate posts but, ultimately, I chose to include them all in one post because I didn’t feel as if there were enough similar compositions to make for strong, separate posts.  There are three photographs below of my grandmother’s vanity.  As I walked to the kitchen one afternoon, I noticed my grandparent’s cheesy beach painting morphing into a beautiful clone of the lit vanity in our bedroom.  I quickly grabbed my camera and took a few shots of this beautiful sight.  I love these photographs because, to me at least, the viewer does not read the reflection as a reflection off of a painting; it looks more like a reflection created by a mirror.  I took a couple of different shots to try and capture different angles and compositions.  The last set of photographs are of a sunset, which occurred during the start of a thunderstorm.  The sky was the kinda dark that makes the clouds glow and become ever more beautiful.  It was not raining, however, and I thought this juxtaposition, of the storm and sunset, would make for some interesting photographs.  I set out to photograph as the sky was and not as reflections, but, since I am a tad on the wee side, I couldn’t get high enough to get a great capture.  They were only so-so shots… even when I was standing on a chair.  Therefore, I improvised.  I noticed that the sky was reflecting beautifully on the house’s outside glass windows, so I began shooting the reflections.  I loved the way the curtains were creating a canvas, with which to solidify and form the sunset upon, rather than having the forms disappear through the glass. I also managed to capture a few shots on the glass door that don’t include the curtains, but I personally prefer the curtain shots.  Anyways, I hope you enjoy these photographs!

Will the Real Side Reflect? Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Lonely Painting Reflects its Vision. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Glass on a Painting, Reflecting Like a Mirror. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Light Becomes the Stormy Sunset. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Stormy Sunsets Over Glass Pleats. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Boy-and-girl-gendered Panels with Clouds. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Neo-Imperialist Sunset. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY MY BLOG AND VIEW MY PHOTOGRAPHS.

PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT PHOTOGRAPHIC BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS! 🙂

15 thoughts on “A Rebel with a Reflective Cause

  1. GREAT post! I particularly love your grandmother’s vanity reflection. I have some similar pics of my pussycat sitting within the secondary glazing. The reflection of which meant double trouble!! 😉

  2. I’m also captivated by reflections and try to capture them with my camera. Your photography intrigues me. I enjoyed the unique perspectives and lighting in each photo. I also wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

