A Cocker Spaniel Goes for a Boogie Board Ride

Oreos and Waves. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

My friend Lyndi brought her adorable, white-with-black-spots, Cocker Spaniel named Oliver to the beach with us.  This dog is pretty much the cutest thing I’ve ever seen… besides my kids of course.  I had never seen a Cocker Spaniel with this type of coat until I met this dog.  Oliver could not get enough of the beach and continuously swam in circles around us, until he grew tired every now and again.  Lyndi tried to think of a way to rig up some sort of float for her beloved Oliver to rest on, while he was taking breaks from swimming.  A boogie board seemed like the perfect fit… and Oliver loved it… for the few, split seconds he was on the board… most of the time, he was too excited about swimming to sit still for long… but he appeared extremely grateful to have a cool place to rest on and hang for those few, split seconds.

 I was lying on the beach when I was summoned to take a picture of this hilariously, cute sight.  It was kind of a difficult task at first because he wouldn’t sit still, but I think I still managed to capture some good images of this cute moment.  I love the temporality of these shots, for he was not on this board for long.  One of my favorites (besides the one at the top of this post) is the second to last from the bottom: it’s a photograph of the moment right before Oliver leaped into the sea.  I wish I could have caught him in mid-air, Henri Cartier-Bresson-style, but there was little space between Oliver and the board to capture, since Oliver’s forward movement immediately thrusted the board backwards.  I still love these photographs, however.  I decided to make them all black and white because they didn’t look right in color… Oliver is just so… black and white. 🙂  The board’s electric-orange glow reflected onto his coat, which I didn’t care for because his coat is so beautiful, so I chose to render these in black and white.  Anyways, I hope you will enjoy these photographs as much as I do.  It was too cute a moment to not photograph!

About to Boogie. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Oliver Enjoying a Good Boogie Board Ride. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Tilted, Serious Oliver. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8x 10 inches.

I’m Hangin’ Tight with the Waves, Dude. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Wet and Breezy and Oh, So Happy. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Oliver Attempts to Plank… Right Before Diving into the Sea. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Oliver Rolls in the Sand After a Long Day’s Work at the Beach. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY AND VISIT/READ MY BLOG! I HOPE YOU WILL COME BACK AGAIN SOON!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

22 thoughts on “A Cocker Spaniel Goes for a Boogie Board Ride

  1. Great photography! The full size pic of Oliver rolling in the sand captures a lot of detail. Yep – apparently Oliver feels it’s important to soak up all that sea water so he can maintain his hairstyle.
    Impressive!

    • Thank you so much… so glad you enjoyed these photographs of Oliver! He is a wonderful subject… doesn’t really sit still that long so these pics are a tad deceiving… But his curiosity and need to explore and do makes for many great photographs! Thank you so much for stopping by!

  2. These are great! Especially loving the one of him rolling in the sand. LOL! So glad you stopped by my blog & liked my post about Pilot. He is another 4 legged (although much larger) character.

  3. love love love this! You captured some amazingly beautiful shots of Oliver. Thanks for liking my blog, and introducing me to yours!! 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

