My Hubbers Qualified for the US Disc Golf Championship!!!!

The Grip of Form. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

This post is in honor of my wonderful husband, Ricky Nance, who placed third at a PDGA sanctioned disc golf tournament in Augusta, Georgia this past weekend.  My husband began playing this sport about three years ago, but only recently did he begin playing in actual tournaments.  He has always been athletic and super good at sports, unlike my dancer self who cannot play a sport to save her life, and recently he achieved world ranking in the sport.  While still playing on the amateur level, he continues to amaze and impress me (and others) as he dramatically improves with each tournament he enters.  His third place position last weekend allowed him to qualify for the United States Disc Golf Championship, which will be held in early October at a course in Rock Hill, South Carolina.  He still has a way to go to before he is considered “professional,” but he takes each day and each tournament one step at a time.  If you knew this guy, you’d know that this moment and his dreams (if he reaches pro status) are worthy of being broadcasted on one of those ESPN specials featuring a humbling story of an athletic dream come true.  Ricky had to grow up at a young age, but I admire him greatly for his strength and positive outlook on life, and what he has overcome.  I think if most people walked a minute in his shoes as a child, they would see the world as a completely different place than most live in.  I won’t go into all of the personal details, but I will say that athletics runs in his genes.  His father, although not actively involved in his childhood and life, is a famous wrestler from back in the day.  Most probably don’t know of him but he is actually in the wrestling hall of fame… his name is Buddy Colt.  I only bring this up because Buddy has made a few recent appearances in his life and one, where I got to meet him.  Although my husband doesn’t consider him to be his father, Buddy’s wrestling career and drive to be a wrestler gives hope to those unsure of perusing their dreams.  I listened to Buddy tell of how he began his career… of how he fell into it and realized he was good at it… and so he continued to work hard and became extremely successful in the sport.  Buddy is really more of a buddy to Ricky, but it is fascinating to see where my husband came from… in terms of blood.  The real hero, however, is the man Ricky referred to as his”father,” Pete Nance.  Ricky and his twin sister moved in with their Uncle Pete, right after their mom passed away at age 13.  Pete worked his way up from nothing, without a college degree, to become an incredibly successful business man and, because of his leadership and influence in my husband’s life, I feel my husband knows how to be driven… and how to succeed.  This may be too much information for you bloggy readers to read, but I feel as if these heroes and father figures are important to bring up because of the age-old human development question: genetics verses environment.  In other words, do a person’s genes or their environment shape and develop a person’s personality.  I’m not psychologist or science person, by any means, so please excuse my lack of ability to eloquently discuss this in further detail. 🙂

I hope that all my readers and friends and family will join me in rooting my husband on in his disc golf journey, and in the US Disc Golf Championship this October.  I will be there no matter what.  I wish I had been there this past weekend to shoot coverage of the tournament, but I had to stay home with my kiddies.  I will, however, be sure to be at this event, sponsored by Coca Cola and Keen shoes and many others, to cheer my husband on and document the tournament.  It is simply incredible to see a disc soar through the air… more beautiful than watching a frisbee.  I don’t know how these disc golf professionals make their discs go where they want them to, and avoid the obstacles along their way; like lakes and trees and such.  I am so proud.  I REPEAT!!  I’M SO PROUD OF MY DEAR, WONDERFUL, AWESOME HUSBAND!!!  These photographs are from a month ago, but I recently discovered ones that never made it into a blog post… they never imported for some strange reason.  So below, you will find some action shots of my husband at Wills Park in Georgia, as well as some tree and feather shots.  Hope you enjoy and here’s to my husband and his disc golf dreams!

Through the Trees and Over an Exposed Pipe. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

The Commence Flight of a Disc. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches. 

The Release through a Bokeh Blur. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Peaceful Grouping of Tall Trees. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Mutualistic Beauty of Bark and Moss. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Feathered Wrinkles Enhance the Beauty of Tree. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

This Tree’s Got Some Serious Wrinkles. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Fallen Trees Make Way for a Disc Golf Pin. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Under-Exposed Roots. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Scatters of Light Upon Some Georgia Tree Roots. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Blue Feather Stuck in the Ground. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Mother Nature’s All Natural Design Work, Rendered in a Blue Feather Medium. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

SO, PLEASE TELL ALL YOUR MOTHERS, FATHERS, SISTERS, BROTHERS, AUNTS, UNCLES, SONS, DAUGHTERS, GRANDPARENTS, FRIENDS AND ANY OTHER PERSON I’VE NEGLECTED TO MENTION ABOUT THE SPORT OF DISC GOLF!!! 

IT IS UNDERAPPRECIATED AND DESPERATELY NEEDS MORE COVERAGE, ALTHOUGH IT IS SLOWLY GAINING MORE AND MORE POPULARITY!  

IT’S A SPORT THAT IS FUN FOR KIDS AND FAMILIES AND HUSBANDS AND WIVES AND GIRLFRIENDS AND BOYFRIENDS WHO ENJOY HIKING AND THE SPORT OF GOLF, ONLY IT’S PLAYED WITH A FRISBEE-LIKE DISC!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY BLOG BOAST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

9 thoughts on “My Hubbers Qualified for the US Disc Golf Championship!!!!

  1. Most disc sports are under-appreciated. Good on him for going so far with disc golf! I’ve played it, but still can’t get any of my discs to go any further than my regular Ultimate Frisbee. I’m much more of an Ultimate player, but as long as no one’s too picky, I’ll run all over a disc golf course, wearing myself out, scoring badly, and having a blast! Nice pics, I wish I had a camera that could catch as much detail!

  2. Sounds like a fun, interactive sport and you’ve provided great action shots. The other pics in this post are gorgeous.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

