A Sunny and Stormy Cloud Post

A Calm Sunny Sky Before the Storm. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

This will most likely be my last post from my trip to the beach two weekends ago.  I have one more possible post but it is only photographs of sand… and I kind of already did that once with the tie-dyed sand post.  But if I get desperate one week I might go back to it.  The photograph above is the sky two hours before some storm clouds developed, while we were out playing on the sand one lazy afternoon.  The sky was a beautiful sight for its darkness was matched with a filter of glowing clouds.  Nature fascinates me… especially storms… watching a storm is like witnessing the world cleanse itself on a massive scale… only this storm, tricked us.  It was only a tease… but without raindrops, I am more easily able to capture the moment!  I wanted to post these photographs today in leu of Hurricane Irene sweeping across the Atlantic Ocean.  Yes, this storm might be headed towards Charleston and Fripp Island… two of my most beloved places on this side of the coast.  It appears hurricanes are only so predictable, so I guess all we can hope for is the best.  My heart goes out to those who have already been hit by the storm.

Fripp Island is a tiny little island that would get annihilated easily… but for now, you have these photographs to enjoy.  In this digital age, I see more and more people taking nature for granted.  But nature is what makes our world livable; it is what makes our world what it is.  It’s all we have.  And hurricane season grows more and more frightening every year.  I took some of these photographs while riding on a golf cart.  My friends and I raced home to seek shelter before the storm  hit… riding in a golf cart in the pouring rain (in an electric one at least) can be quite a challenge… so we, and pretty much everyone else on the island, raced home when they observed the dark clouds appearing in the sky.  I, however, am no stranger to the beach nor beach weather, and I know that you can never be too sure it’s going to rain or not… and even when it does, it usually doesn’t last that long and blows right on by.  A couple of these photographs were taken moments after arriving to the beach house.  I walked out on our front deck to photograph the sight… I attempted a zoom blur (where you twist the zoom right as you click on the shutter)… I don’t know how it really turned out but I like that the clouds appear in motion; because they really were in motion; but it was a motion similar to  time lapse… slow but significant.  I hope you will enjoy these photographs and please feel free to leave any and all feedback!  Be safe and hope you are all able to keep dry!

The Race to Get Home. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Zoom Blur Upon a Stormy Billow. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Storm Clouds and Sunlight. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Front-Deck, Storm-Clouded View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Roofing’s Viewpoint. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Split in the Storm’s Seam. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Moisture Collecting Over the Marina. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY AND VIEW MY BLOG!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG BOAST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS! 🙂

21 thoughts on “A Sunny and Stormy Cloud Post

  1. The clouds have been amazing all summer long. I am actually looking to post my own blog of clouds I have photographed throughout the past three months. Great Post!

  2. Great shots. I love the sky and clouds and rainbows and lightning and anything else going on in the generally upward direction, and I have huge numbers of sky photos myself — but I never get tired of seeing them — and your cloud images are wonderful. My favorites are the three central, dark, stormy clouds. Thanks for posting these.

  3. Beautiful work Polly, I enjoy your blog as well. I subscribed to further my connection with your work. Thanks for checking out blog, please feel free to subscribe if you like. Looking forward to communicating with you.

  4. Howdy Polly –

    More great photography here! The one of the marina is postcard perfect. I like the water with the field and tree line in the background.
    Thanks for reminding what marinas look like 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

