Reprise: Flower Petal Bokeh Experiment… Wilted

Sunlight Scatters Upon the Scattered, Dried Flower Petals. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A couple of weeks ago, I attempted to create some bokeh compositions of flowers that had fallen off our Crape Myrtle tree and onto our outdoor umbrella.  They turned out beautifully (I think), so I thought it would be fun to continue with this series and experiment (or maybe even, eventually, compose a compiled series of these images over time).

Yesterday, I noticed that the same, scattered pink array of fallen flower petals had transformed into a dried and wilted arrangement.  They were still beautiful; but it was a different kind of beautiful.  As summer comes to a close, I know that more of the beautiful flowers I’ve driven by day after day, throughout the summer, will soon all fall to the earth and wilt.  The cycle of life; the cycle of a tree.  Our world and the nature that surrounds is so miraculous, and it amazes me more each time I observe pieces of it in detail.  Delicate, live works of art, surrounds us everywhere.  I love that I have a photographic document showcasing fragments of this tree’s life cycle… I love that, in my previous experiment, the flowers were fresh off the branches and, after a couple of weeks, this process presents me with new ideas for compositions for the colors have dulled and the petals have wilted; a similar, but uniquely separate viewpoint.

A Wider View of the Wilted. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Blurs in Focus. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Evidence of a Tree. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Shadows and Death in New Light. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I climbed on top of a low, flagstone wall to take these photographs and, right as I was about to start shooting, my aviator sunglasses fell off.  At first I was annoyed but, since it happened, I thought I’d add them to the arrangement of fallen subject matter to photograph.  My beach photographs turned out so well, that I thought I’d carry on with that idea for a few shots.  I probably should have grabbed a step ladder to stand on, but the wall and chair I had worked ok (I was only slightly lower than I desired)… so I worked with it.  In my only college studio art course I took at Agnes Scott, I had to render an abstract drawing/ representation of the word “scattered.”  I had so much trouble, while experimenting on the thumbnail scale, because I am a very ordered type of person.  I had extreme difficulty rendering a composition of scattered that looked scattered… my thumbnails looked “placed” and ordered.  My professor urged me to photograph scattered objects and, with the help of my blind contour drawing skills, I eventually produced a composition that the class agreed looked “scattered.”  Anyways, the point of this is that project is forever on my mind.  I cannot escape all the hard work and drive I put into a little old intro-level art class project.  But, I loved the results and that is all that matters.  Therefore, I enjoy photographing things that naturally look scattered; such as these dried flowers.  I am really enjoying putting my camera in manual mode.  I think my photographs turn out better because I am forced to use more brainpower and thought to create compositions; more so, say, than I would in auto mode.  Maybe that’s just me… but it is a fun challenge and makes you appreciate an automatic focus function!  I hope you enjoy these photographs and please feel free to leave any and all feedback… and, if you are interested in seeing my previous bokeh, flower petal photographs… you can click HERE.  Enjoy!

The Tinted Wilted. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Reflective, Half-View of Nature’s Cyclical Patterns. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Some Color Still Remains. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Focus on the Flower Background. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Bokeh Light Shining through a Fabric Umbrella. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Soft, Afternoon Bokeh Spots. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!  I HOPE YOU WILL COME BACK AGAIN!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG BOAST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS!!! 🙂

32 thoughts on “Reprise: Flower Petal Bokeh Experiment… Wilted

  1. Wow, thanks for giving a name to an effect I love so well. I have a special lens combination that I used even on my manual camera to create the blur on all that I don’t want you to focus on. I like the second one best.

    • Thank you so much for the feedback! Bokeh is a fantastic effect and I have just now figured out its name as well. It’s so fun to play around with because you never really know what you are going to get… and the compositions always turn out beautifully! Thank you for stopping by and I hope you will come back again!

    • Thank you so much! I tried to focus on different parts to create different compositions… in order to make comparisons and see what works, what doesn’t. Thank you so much for the feedback and I hope you will come back again and visit!

  2. Beautiful work and great experiments, I love the way you play around and make work. I especially like the flower and the sunglasses where the focus is on the flower. Excellent
    A.Wally

    • Thank you so much!!!! I try to make it work because if I don’t, I spend more time coming up with the “perfect” photograph that ends up not looking perfect and boring. The making it work part allows me to let go and work in a much freer style. Thank you for stopping by! Your photographs are always incredible!

    • Haha thank you… my imagination scares me sometimes because it is rather wild… but in this case I think my imagination served me well. Thank you for your comment and I hope you will come back again!

  3. Haha it does look like an ad. Except if I were to do an ad it would be more of a political campaign for the environment and how everything has turned to digital… nature is taken for granted. Ha but it would make for a cool and normal phone ad too, of course ;). Thank you for your comment! Hope you will come back!

    • Hey thanks for the link and feedback! I looked at that photographer’s blog and he has some really great images! I recently took some photographs of the sky that played around with the techniques he did in those images… although his are way better! I’ll be posting those sometime this week. Hope you will come back!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

