JP MOSLEY… Practicing for Sunday’s Disc Golf Tournament

These photographs were taken earlier this week, while my husband was practicing for this Sunday’s big disc golf tournament in lil ole Atlanta, Georgia: The 15th Annual Hotlanta; Return of the FireChicken (haha I like the name of the tournament… yet another reason why I like this sport… quirkiness almost always accompanies it).  My husband, Ricky Nance, will be playing for the first time as an advanced player in the tournament.  He has been playing on the intermediate level, but it is time for him to move up!  He could have played  sand-baggin’ style in the intermediate division, but he wanted to have some practice on the advanced level for the United States Disc Golf Championship in October.  Wishing him all the best tomorrow!  He’s a BEAST.  It takes guts to move on and brave the unknown… amongst the Pros and best players… but I have confidence in him.  And he’s fearless and has great game face.  Welp folks, I hope you enjoy these photographs… the tournament will be played at this course, JP Mosley, tomorrow.  Game on, disc golfers. 😉

A Camera and Some Disc Golf Action. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Ricky Throws a Stringy Disc. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Intense Impressions of a Disc Golf Practice Session. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Yellow Tomahawk Throw. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Bench Can See Shots. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Following Through with a Blue. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Close-up of a True-Braves-Fan-Tomahawk-Chop. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

If You Don’t Land Inside the Rock Circle, It’s a Stroke Penalty. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Almighty Flingin.’ Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Camera Can Transform Plastic into Rubber. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Walking Towards the Basket with a Twist. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Twist of Ricky’s Black-and-White Walk. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

The Trow that Made the Disc Sit UP. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

THANK YOU OH SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY AND VIEW MY BLOG AND PHOTOGRAPHS!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG-READIN’ FRIENDS! 🙂


25 thoughts on “JP MOSLEY… Practicing for Sunday’s Disc Golf Tournament

    • Thank you! I always try to test out which one people are going to like… I always put my favorite of the bunch at the top and I’m so glad you agree! Thank you for coming back and stopping by again! And thank you for the comment 🙂

  1. Big fan of: 1st. 3rd. 6th. 9th. 11th. 12th.

    Played Frisbee golf myself for a little while so I have a good Idea of what I’m looking at but
    I wouldn’t Mind Seeing a better angle [ Hyzer / Mung (ask your husband:) ] on the Disk in the last shot.

    Keep Snapping, when you’re on you’re Great.
    The shots I mentioned above are portfolio worthy.

    PS: Don’t forget to Sell your shots on istockphoto.com (you keep all rights and credits)
    and give away the shots that dont quite make the cut on Morgefile.com 😉

    • Ok… I know what the hyzer is but I’ll definitely have to ask about the Mung… never heard of that one! Ha this sport is so funny… all the names for the discs and moves, etc. Thank you for stopping by and for the great feedback! Do come back again… I still need to check out istockphoto. Glad you think some of these are portfolio worthy :). I really appreciate all your comments!

    • Thank you so much… I tried to photograph in a way that would showcase the intensity and speed so I’m so glad these are reading that way! Thank you for the feedback and I hope you will come back again!

  2. Wow! I had no idea that this was an intense sport, your photos certainly give it that feel. I have to agree with the consensus, #1 has some great forward motion with the blur.

    • It’s an intense sport for sure! Kinda like golf… only, not many know what disc golf is. It’s a really really cool and chill sport though! It’s becoming more popular but it is still very under-appreciated it :). Thanks so much for stopping by and glad you liked the photographs! I think # 1 has won majority consensus. 🙂

  3. Howdy Polly – well….. just color me stupid – I don’t know where I’ve been but I had never heard of this until I read this post. I had to go look it up to see what it is. Not a big sports fan but I do watch all the NFL games, horse racing, rodeos, etc…, and still had not even heard the name of the sport.

    Oh well……..anyway – the photos are great, I enjoy seeing your creativity with the shots!

    • Haha! Don’t you worry yourself too much, not many people have heard of disc golf! I heard about it in college but I thought it was more like ultimate frisbee. It’s a pretty chill sport that is usually located at public parks and played on trails. It is played exactly the same way as golf only with small, flat frisbees that you have to land in metal baskets with chains set up on the trails. There is a par set for every hole. You should look up the nearest course and try it out sometime… but if you are like me, I get frustrated too easily with sports to ever want to be good at them. I hit a lot of trees and gave up when I’ve played. It’s not a big sport though but it is slowly and slowly becoming more popular over time. And it’s free to play at most parks!!! I’m glad you enjoyed these shots… I have more in the archives if you want to look through them… with more explanation of the sport in writing… but I like these shots the best so far! Thanks for stopping by and for the feedback!!

    • haha… he had a really good day. BUT it was his first time playing “pro” status… he wasn’t expecting to be in the top or anything… those guys have been playing for 15 years or more… but he didn’t finish last!!! He was like 11th from the bottom… out of 41… so not terrible for a first tournament in that division. He is used to placing however so he was a tad disappointed (but he still knew going into it these were the best and top ranked players in the world), but it grew into determination to get better 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

