Morning Dew Drops Over Spiderwebs and Grass Blades

An Insect’s Breakfast. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I took these photographs this morning and have been working diligently on editing them ever since.  I had other posts to post I could have posted today, but these photographs were too beautiful and too spontaneous of a photographic moment to not blog about immediately.  I love it when that happens… I walked outside this morning, to take the dogs out, and noticed beautiful morning dew drops scattered all over our backyard.  Ever since I photographed the pouring rain one day, I have been yearning to photograph drops of water.  But I wanted this to happen naturally, rather than create a manipulated set-up of water drops.  These dew drops were sitting upon every single blade of grass in our lawn and on every single spiderweb attached to our flagstone wall.  I was mesmerized by their subtle, simple and, yet, beautiful presence.  The minute I crouched down to begin photographing these drops, two yellow jackets buzzed pass me to collect water from them.  I don’t know why, but I have never witnessed this spectacle before… insects collecting water in the morning.  It was incredible to see our world on a macro level; it was another world all together, actually.  This spectacle was similar to watching the animated film, A Bug’s Life, only it was really happening before my own two eyes.  Maybe I’m a dork, but I found this sight pretty cool.  I photographed a few shots of the grass blades and then, my sunglasses fell off… again.  But I placed them in a spot close to the drops I was photographing… and continued shooting.  I dug the way the meal and tinted glass was aiding in creating a wet, cold sense to these drops.  That is how I tried to edit these photographs… like my previous raindrops posts… I wanted these drops to, not just be photographs of dew drops, but documents of their realistic presence in combinations with how I’m observing them.  In other words, I found beauty in these simple drops and, therefore, wanted those emotions to be read within these compositions as well.  I chose to render these in black and white because I love how the black and white makes these drops appear wet and cold.  The color made the compositions feel warmer and less wet.  If that makes any sense. 🙂  The last three of this set were rendered in color because I loved the color of the flower too much to take out.  They feel a tad bit warmer, but they were in the shade with a dark backdrop underneath, so I still found them to be beautiful in color.  Who knows, I may change them to black and white later.  But for now, I hope you enjoy this series of morning dew drops.

Metal Frames Dew Drop Rains. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

The Calm on a Grass Blade. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Dewy Glass. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Clinging to Provide. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Waterfall Drops of Focus. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Morning Dew Drop Curtain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

96 thoughts on “Morning Dew Drops Over Spiderwebs and Grass Blades

  1. Pingback: Twinkle, Twinkle Little Dew Drops « WatchingThePhotoReelsGoRoundAndRound…

  2. Hi Polly
    Really cool pics, I love the B&W they are special and you have great passion that comes through when you talk about them in your blog.

    Thanks for checking out Cape Town in my blog, just wait Durban photos are some of my best work if you love animals.

    keep it flowing

    Fly high Fly Free

    Chris

Let me know what you are thinking :)

