A Little Bit of Disc Golf and a Little Bit of Pacman

Discraft-Pacman Ghost Eyes. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

These are some spunky, hipped up versions of disc golf action shots. I am not a sports/action shot photographer, so I tend to get a little bored with the act of taking disc golf shots. However, I do it for my husband because he enjoys being able to see his form… it helps him figure out what to tweak. I did take regular ole shots as well, but I wanted to post these first because they are more fun. We went to Piedmont Park in Atlanta, Georgia one sunny afternoon so that Ricky could practice his open shots. On a disc golf course, there are holes in the woods, and there are holes that are more open and located outside the thicket of trees. Although Ricky has two disc golf baskets, in which to practice his putting skills, he needed a place to practice his open shots. Piedmont Park was the perfect place because of the flat, softball fields it possesses. It was early in the afternoon, right after lunch, so there weren’t many people there for Ricky to possibly hit with discs. 🙂 I am amazed at how people can throw these disc so far and so straight! Anyways, he had this pink and purple pacman disc that I was admiring, when I suddenly realized it would make for a great filter to shoot through. I thought it would add a little twist to the mundane. I also love how a disc is framing and seeing the act of throwing a disc in these photographs… if that makes any sense? These are not the clearest, nor perfectly rendered shots… My camera was actually set to manual mode because I love working in that setting… I’m serious… if you want better photographs, work in manual!!!  I don’t know what I’m doing either but I am not afraid to try and experiment.  If you are wondering, these photographs were taken right beside the Piedmont Driving Club.  I hope you enjoy my whacky perspective of the sport!

The Purple Pacman Ghost is Hungry for Disc Golf Players. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

The Piedmont Driving Club and Ricky in Pacman Ghost Eyes. Polly Nance. Digital photographs. 8 x 10 inches.

A Pacman-Ghost-Filter and a Look. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Disc Seeing and Being Seen. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A One-Eyed Release. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Two Pink Eyes on Ricky. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Pacman Ghost Eyes Deciding Upon a Human or a Flying Disc for Lunch. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Looks Like the Purple Pacman Ghost Has Chosen the Human. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOAG BOAST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG-READIN’-AND-SOON-TO-TURN-DISC-GOLF-LOVIN’ FRIENDS! 🙂

6 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Disc Golf and a Little Bit of Pacman

  1. Pingback: A Little Bit of Disc Golf and a Little Bit of Pacman … | Disc Golf Information

    • Haha yeah it is a real sport! Most people have never heard of it :). The discs are similar to frisbees, but they are smaller and thinner… there are different ones for different shots :). Thanks for stopping by and I hope you will come back again!

  2. Hi Polly, I love these, and I’m noticing a deep kind of melancholy associated with your work, there is a tension between the subject matter in these shots (and in your shots reflected from sunglasses) which would seem lively/sunny/sporty and a mood of distance and sadness that reaches way beyond the content – making it (in my humble opinion) art, in the highest sense. Thank you for sharing it!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

