Smiles Over Two Week Old Poodle Puppies

All Yawns. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

TWO WEEK OLD BABY POODLE PUPPIES!!!!!!!!! Yay-rah!

Just when I was wondering if I’d have any new subject matter to photograph this Labor Day weekend at Lake Oconee, Ricky’s cousin Sharon brings her poodle Sweet Pea and her three brand new baby puppies. The cycle of life fascinates me, especially since I am mother of two, and I was delighted to witness this phase of life in the doggie-dog world. These puppies were too cute, and I loved how their coats hadn’t fully expanded into to poodle curl fluff just yet… their coats looked more like slick but dry lil’ Jheri curls. Ha! I have never held nor seen puppies this small… or at least I can’t remember a time that I have. I know I’ve seen kittens this tiny, but not puppies. Of course I desired to know more about the birthing process of puppies… what was Sweet Pea’s “baby story?” Luckily, Sharon and Dennis filled me in on all the details. πŸ™‚ Like all newborns, these puppies were resting or sleeping most of the time, but I managed to capture a few moments where they were wide-awake. You could fit two of these lil cute thangs in the palm of one hand.

Nancy, my mother in-law, has had this broken window at her house for a couple of months now… and I think it amuses her that I like to take pictures of it. It still mesmerizes me and so, I jumped at the opportunity to photograph a puppy through the cracks. It was difficult to discern what I was doing, since the sun was setting, but I still managed to come out with one photo I enjoyed. I wish I had been standing on a tall stool, but I worked with my short self… I couldn’t ask to keep re-doing newborn puppy shots when they needed to nurse and sleep. This one shot, however, reminded me of the film, The Lion King; the partΒ where the monkey holds up baby Simba for all to see. πŸ™‚

I needed my camera, in this instance, to keep me emotionally distant from these lil loves. My three year old son wanted one, naturally, but five animals and two kids and a husband are all that I can handle. Thank goodness no tears were shed. Anyways,Β I hope you enjoy these beautiful and precious puppy moments!

Baby Simba Pup Through Cracked Glass. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Perfect Poodle Puppiness. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Fresh Puppy So Sleepy. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.Β 

Fresh, Brothers and Sisterly Love. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Trying So Hard to Be Wide-Eyed. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Curls and Puppy Paws. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Texture of Puppy Sweetness. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Tiny Puppy Dangle. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Juxtaposition of Rest and Work. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Sweet Pea Resting with Her Sweet Peas. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

32 thoughts on “Smiles Over Two Week Old Poodle Puppies

  1. Oh my gosh ~ they’re adorable! I love the shot you got of the yawning puppy! I think it perfectly captures the essence of puppiehood!

  2. Howdy Polly –

    Animal photography can be hard to do at times. Everything needs to just right to get a quality photo, and I do believe you’ve done that here!.
    I especially enjoyed the “brothers and sisterly love” . Great shot that kind of tells a story about those pups, including their actual size.

    Good going !

    • Thank you so much! I took so many photographs because I’m trying my best to do everything in manual mode… digital and auto focus just seem to automatic… so I’m glad that a lot of these did turn out great. Thank you so much for the feedback!

  3. Polly what a beautiful job! You have captured a side of the babies that I hadn’t seen and they live with me! So enjoyed you and the kids, and of course Ricky (lol) this weekend. You are very talented!

  4. They really are Aaaw pics Polly, and being a dog person I think they are wonderful, it’s almost better (not quite, but very close to) looking at photos of human babies. Who of course I love I have my own and grandchildren, BUT puppy dogs…have to be my favourites. I was very lucky at one time, before my wife was struck down with the dreaded MS, to actually breed Labradors. We only had two litters, we didn’t do it for a living, and the pups from both litters were adorable. But then of course you have to let them go.
    But I got some great pics, I will have to dig em out and post on blog.

    Thanks for sharing. Love em!

  5. I used to breed Shelties (3-8 oz at birth) and I love puppies. But at 2 weeks, their brains are not really awake yet. Go back and see what a difference another week makes! (Of course at 3 weeks + they probably won’t hold still for the camera unless they’re asleep.)

  6. OMG!!! How cute are these guys! Even tho I am a cat person, these take me back to my childhood when the family I was babysitting for had a dog who gave birth to 11 puppies. I fell completely in love with the two littlest runts of the litter and spent hours just holding them and watching them sleep. Thanks for the memory (and for visiting my blog. much appreciated. πŸ™‚ )

Let me know what you are thinking :)

