Urban Drive-By Shots

A Previously Taken Drive-By Shot that Needed Proper Attention. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

These photographs were taken on the way home from our trip to Lake Oconee last weekend. The photograph above, however, was taken in June but I though it appropriate to include it within this series. I love the fleeting, improvisational act of taking shots while driving in a car. It is the only experience I’ve ever had with street photography and perhaps that is because I feel safer at a distance. I am not brave enough (not yet at least) to ask strangers if I can photograph them… I feel too invasive and a bit like I’m exploiting them… but I’ll probably get over that soon). For now, I’ll stick to these type of window shots. I find this type of photography fascinating because there is so much to observe from this angle. If one did not have a camera in hand, one would miss these moments. You never know what you are going to capture. I tried to spot things ahead of time, since I was shooting this in manual focus mode, and photograph what I thought would make for interesting compositions. It felt a lot like social documentary photography… except at a distance. I was amazed at how many people were so dedicated to running that they were out running in the pouring rain… but, that’s probably because I am SO not a runner. I’m too lazy. It probably felt good in this heat to have some rain cooling them off as they ran. Anyways, I hope you enjoy these photographs!

Bus-Stop Waiting in the Pouring Rain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Gorilla Post. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

One on Foot and the Other on Wheels, Under a Rainy Bridge. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Watchin’ His Back in Black and White Urbia. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Highly Dedicated Runner. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Rainy White Runner. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG-READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

24 thoughts on “Urban Drive-By Shots

    • Thanks so much for the feedback! I love the first photograph as well… even though it was taken on a different day than the rest. He does look like an apparition! I love that. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and I hope you will come back again!

  1. Street photography…. it is quite a challenge. Actually is something I like a lot and know some tricks I can share. The only problem is that some people don’t like to be photographed without being asked… so, since that may be a concern I don’t ask. Maybe my environment allows me to do that, since there is more people on the streets that don’t really pay attention on one who is taking random pictures. Nice pictures.

    • Thank you so much for sharing those tips… I wasn’t about to go asking for that reason. πŸ™‚ I need to just go sit and watch people out and about in the city. Thank sounds like a fun challenge to pull me out of my shell a bit. I really appreciate the feedback!

    • UM… haha!! I just noticed the dog also… I read your comment and was like, “what dog?” I didn’t even see the dog before this post! Haha see! This is why I love this type of photography. Thank you so much for the feedback!

  2. I liked the first one especially, though I think all of them are interesting. It’s a problem shooting through the window… and I’m sure that if you actually talked to some of your subjects you would find it rewarding… though it might be a bother for them if they’re running. A difficult project, but I think it’s worth while.

  3. They are all great, I think. I find your photographs to be quite interesting and creative. For me, though, I have to stick to my birds and wildlife. I don’t have the bravado to do street photography, or actually any kind of “people” photography.

    • Thank you! Well, I say stick to what you love and are great at… birds/ wildlife seem to be always inspiring great photographs in you, and I always enjoy your work as well. Thank you for the feedback πŸ™‚

  4. I really enjoy the top photograph in this series. It tells a story just like a photograph should. As far as street photography goes, in 95% of the cases I would say don’t ask, just shoot. Maybe get a faster, longer lens to shoot from more of a distance. Remember… if a picture isn’t good, you’re not close enough.

  5. Under the Bridge, definitely my favourite (a bit of a Red Hot Chillis theme there rather than your usual Lennon connections!). There’s something exciting about the drive by shooting style, you never know what you’re going to get, and the light is always a surprise. Love the idea, and you are executing it well. Inspiring stuff.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

