Raindrops on Shutters and Shutters on Windows

A Vintage Embrace of Light and Rain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Earlier this week, it poured rain for a day and a half straight. These photographs were taken late in the afternoon, while the rain was still heavy and the light was still bright enough to capture beautiful interior compositions. The window depicted is in my husband and I’s bathroom. I am drawn to this oval-shaped window because of its vintage charm and placement above our claw-foot bathtub. These shutters were placed on the exterior of the window in order to give those taking a bath a bit of privacy… and I love the sight of light filtering through them, which showers rays of light upon the bathtub below. Whenever I pass this window in the daylight, it evokes a sense of spirituality and nostalgia for past within me. During the rainstorm, I noticed how intensely the raindrops were clinging to the tilted, wooden shutters. The window panes were splattered with dripping raindrops, so I put my camera in manual mode in order to focus in on the shutters. The result was a nice blurred effect which, in turn, acted as a hazy filter to shoot these raindrops through. I loved this effect… which might not be the clearest of views… but it added to the emotional sense I wish to evoke in these compositions. Vintage, claw-foot bathtubs have long been a love of mine, so perhaps that is why I feel a spiritual connection to this sight. They make me think of my grandparents, and how objects were built to last, back in their days. And I pass this sight frequently, day after day. I adore the charm attached to vintage items.

As I began exploring the shutters with my camera, I was fascinated by the natural order and, alignment, of these raindrops. They were aligned in rows, clinging as individual drops to the painted woodgrains. I love how water operates… how the molecules cling together for as long as they can until they spill off an object… Tis a beautiful sight in mine eyes. Anyways, I hope you enjoy the photographs below… my heart goes out to those without rain… such as those in Texas currently and directly affected by the raging wildfires. Although, I hear it has rained some over there… but the news keeps displaying the devastation and current rage of those fires… so those folks are in my thoughts. Rain should never be the subject of a complaint… but I also feel for those affected by all the flooding. Nature is a crazy, powerful thang πŸ™‚

Raindrops on Shutters and Shutters on Windows. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Clinging to Woodgrain in the Pouring Rain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Chrome Silhouette in Rain and Light. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

An Organic Ordering of Raindrops. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Bisected, Raindrop Observation. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Unclear, Yet Lightly Beautiful. Polly Nance. Digital Photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Man-Made and All-Natural Showers. Polly Nance. Digital Photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Pouring Rain at Light Speed. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG-READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Raindrops on Shutters and Shutters on Windows

  1. Polly, I have to agree with motherblue, this is one of your most provocative series. I really do love it. Each image takes me into your theme and the composition is delightful. I like the close ups and the water droplets flowing through each image. There are sharp vertical lines and curved forms which perfectly coming together.

    Keep up the fantastic work
    Walter

    • Thanks so much… I honestly wasn’t sure if I should even post these… I’m so glad to hear that two people think it is my best… very surprising feedback, but I love it! I love these photographs too… but you never know how folks are going to respond. Thanks so much for the thoughtful feedback… I love finding cool compositions out of the ordinary and these drops prompted me to finally photograph this window. πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)

