Experimenting with an Aries Light Emblem

Aries over Grandaddy’s Antique Wood. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

This is a totally random and spontaneous experiment. My husband found this tiny keychain flashlight, which happened to be an aries symbol… so, of course, I thought would be fun to play around with. Just so happens, that is his mom’s sign. His mother passed away when he was thirteen… I realize that I’m stretching the symbolism of these photographs a bit… but it seems appropriate because branding has been on my mind lately. I’ve been told I have my own photographic style, so I wanted to use this aries flashlight as a way to find new meaning in nostalgic objects. I shined this light on a variety of materials… wood, my iPhone, my old oil paintings, metal and wallpaper. ย I was curious to see how it would shed new “light” (pardon the cheesy pun ๐Ÿ™‚ ) onto objects I treasure. The paintings that currently hang on my living room walls were painted six years ago… when I really didn’t know what I was doing. It was a time when I was a lost little girl in a big world… and also, a time when I was too lazy to ever clean my brushes or go to the store for more turpentine. The light allowed me to break down my old paintings and see them in close-up, fragmented views. I tried to manually focus and shine the light, which was pretty difficult since I wasn’t using a tri-pod. I loved how there was a hint of color in the flashlight… a hint of pinkish-red… but the color only showed up on some of the objects. While conducting this experiment, I was also thinking about watermarks in terms of branding; how it is necessary to place a watermark on photographs these days so that your images cannot be stolen and published with no credits to you for your hard work. I think it’s a travesty that people steal images and think it’s ok to claim them as their own. Why? Didn’t your mamas teach you better? Ha. Anyways, I find it interesting how artists evolve over time… at the time, after I finished painted these oil paintings, I thought they were incredible. I was so proud of myself! But now, looking back, I see so many mistakes and errors. I clearly didn’t know what I was doing and I was teaching myself… now, I can’t really stand to look at these for too long! But, these were some of my first paintings. So funny how that changes. I guess that is all a part of the process for artistic growth. You can only be so good in so much time. It takes time to evolve. Anyways, I hope you enjoy these photographs and my random experiment with an aries flashlight!

Aries and iPhones and Lamp Light. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and Apple Machines. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and Trend Metal Patterns. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and Lily Petals and a Lily Stem. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries at the Center of an Oil Composition. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and a Cropped, Oiled Lily Petal Waterfall. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Focus on the Task at Hand. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Blurred Aries and Wallflowers. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and Deer Cheeks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries and a Wickedly Textured Iris. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Aries andan ย Amateur Oiled Hazel Eye. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG! I HOPE YOU WILL COME BACK AGAIN SOON!

AS ALWAYS, FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG-READIN’ FRIENDS. ๐Ÿ™‚

12 thoughts on “Experimenting with an Aries Light Emblem

    • Thanks so much! You should definitely get out there and dive into the creative process… you never know what you will come up with! It is quite therapeutic :). Thanks so much for the feedback and I hope you will come back again!

    • Thank you! I agree… this was just a start to an emerging idea… I didn’t know where it would take me… but I’m not satisfied with these images and I intend on exploring further. I appreciate the feedback as always ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. Call me crazy, but I think mistakes in some paintings make the painting have more character. I love these photos. And you, like every other artist, will evolve over time. I can’t wait to watch your evolution ๐Ÿ™‚

    • You aren’t crazy! I agree… that is actually why I prefer oil over acrylics. I like the fluidity of the medium… how you have to keep going once you start and the mistake you make, force you to engineer a way out of them; it helps put your creative mind into great use. Thank you so much for your feedback! I can’t imagine my life without art and creation in it… I’d be miserable. But, I’ve learned from my younger naive years, to not be egotistical, and always appreciate room for growth. I love that I have these documents of my growth ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What a beautiful selection of visual works. I think the first one is my favorite. Lately I have been doing a lot of soft focus in my pieces, Perhaps that is why I am drawn to this piece. All in all nice composition and variety of images.

  3. Thanks for sharing this! I like the experimentation and the freedom you allow yourself! I was in a beautiful restaurant in Prague once and the red wine in the wine glass with the light hitting it created the most wonderful fabulous muted red reflection which I just had to photograph – the waiters were very confused!! Thanks

Let me know what you are thinking :)

