Still Lives of Wilting Flowers

A Time to Dry. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I took these photographs awhile back, but never posted them for some odd reason… perhaps I was distracted by poodle puppies and dewdrops. These were taken at Piedmont park, while accompanying my husband one day to practice disc golf. I wandered around a bit and noticed this man napping peacefully on a bench. Beside him was this beautiful gazebo that possessed beautiful flowers in its center. The flowers were surrounded by fencing, but that made them even more fun to try and shoot. I’m ALWAYS up for a challenge… plus, with my camera in manual mode, I was able to blur the fencing in some of these. I loved this giant centerpiece of flowers because death was being featured along the perimeter, while life blossomed on the interior. Therefore, there was a nice juxtaposition between the shriveling flowers and the bright, colorful ones that were still alive. Anyways, I was playing around with depth of field and aperture whilst photographing… I hope you enjoy!

A Drying Focus. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Drying for the Public Park. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Blurry and Fenced Foreground. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Fencing and Yellow Flower Bokeh. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Wilted Earth-Tones. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Blurs in Flower Focus. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Collecting Nutrients in the Park. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Light-Speed Travel Through Captive Flowers. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOGGY-BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNITL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

47 thoughts on “Still Lives of Wilting Flowers

    • Thank you so much! I twisted my lens, so that it would zoom in, at the same time I pressed the shutter… it takes some practice to make it look right but it’s really fun… images turn out better when there is a variety of color in the composition… for instance, if you are shooting a photograph of white carpet… you would be able to see the blur effect that great… same with the sky… unless it is a stormy sky or a sunset. Have fun! And thank you for the feedback! 🙂

      • I was going to ask the same question, beautiful, each and everyone! I have noticed you at my site and now have a little time to check you out and I am impressed, and have so much more to look through, it will be like an afternoon at a wonderful gallery. Thank you for coming by and now I get to take a little look and I hope you can come by again and do comment it would mean a great deal to me, especially after seeing your talent! ….RaeDi

  1. Polly, thanks for visiting my blog mexicocityobserver. I viewed your photos and enjoy your fascination with detail and close-up. (Liked the reflection series and windowpanes.) I will be covering more Mexican photographers, illustrators, artists, designers and architects, so hope that you’ll continue to find helpful information on my blog. Good luck on all your photographic ventures!

  2. This is beautiful art in in its simplest form – right from nature. Adding this to a post I recently did on how we each have our own way of expressing ourselves – art is personal!

    Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Pingback: Art – How do you express yourself? | Words Etc Writing – Exploring communication on all levels….

  4. I like the first one the most. Just all those things going on. The fenced in (jailed?) flowers, the dead flowers, the bright flowers. The vertical lines of the fencing and the vertical stalks of the flowers. My eye just keeps bouncing around just looking at everything. I often times like narrow depth of field (focus), but on this I just love all the front being in focus, so my eye just keeps moving. Great texture. Love that photo! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Very nice Polly, the various degrees of focusing makes for an interesting series indeed. Each series you produced demonstrates your ability to explore technically and artistically and with great beauty.

  6. I love dead flowers for the textures. Someone once wanted to know why I was in the garden taking photos in jan since there was “nothing to see”. They have their own beauty.

  7. Polly, you did a nice set, and seemed to me a kind of philosophical touches with your camera. Each of them shows us, how things can change in every distance for eye of camera/and sure for us… I loved what you did. Thank you, with my love, nia

    • Thanks so much for the feedback! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed these… i did try a variety of approaches in these shots. 🙂 I always try to be philosophical but I’m not always certain if it works in a way that can be photographically read… I’m glad you found that to be true with these images. 🙂

  8. Gosh, what an incredible following you have/ I like the very first photo
    For me, it was clearly the most straight-forward and telling (it told me plenty
    by way of my own personal symbolism s)
    like the cliche’ goes “thanx for sharing”

Let me know what you are thinking :)

