Reflecting Upon Reflective Surfaces

A Cracked Glass Reflection. Polly Nance Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

These photographs are an eclectic array of reflective surfaces that I randomly decided to photograph. The one above you might have seen a similar version of… but I jut can’t help but take pictures of that broken window every time I return to Lake Oconee. I had to post these photographs because I have some sad news… Lennon (my 22 month old) broke my aviators… the same aviators I have photographed all summer long. Gone. Just. Like. That. I bought a new pair to replace them, but they are not the same. The surface isn’t as reflective… the reflections turn out more subtle; not as clear nor pronounced. I guess you could say, or really I could say, that this post is in memory of those awesome shades… RIP shades. You were the best. Below, Β both my old and new pair of aviators can be seen in these photographs. Good thing these new ones were on sale for $10 or I wouldn’t have bought them because they aren’t as cool… but, until I can afford a nice pair, I will stick with these. The rest of the photographs are of other reflective surfaces that I found interesting enough to photograph… while conducting this experiment, I noticed that my light fixture (above my sink) is in dire need of dusting. I should be embarrassed… but I like how it adds charm to the composition. But, it might just be filth you feel when you view these photographs. Ha. Anyways, I hope you enjoy!

Railings on Aviators. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Curves are the New Lines. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Tinted Reflections. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

New Aviators and a Robot. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Reflecting Form within the Horizontal. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Cropped Robotic Reflection. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Anybody Have a Duster? Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Antiqued Light Fixtures in Dust and Pewter. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOGGY-BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS! πŸ™‚


22 thoughts on “Reflecting Upon Reflective Surfaces

    • Haha well I’m glad… cause dust worries me and it causes me terrible sinus issues… my son as well… so, even though there might be some charm attached to dust, they probably need to be cleaned! haha. Thank you for your feedback!

  1. did you ever do just a blank of the broken shades? Use as a filter to layer like you would with a negative in the darkroom? the crack pattern in the first photo is awesome.

    • No I haven’t… i prefer to find natural occurrences to photograph… but I might toy with that idea for some self-portraits… i actually have been searching around for cheap, cracked lenses but a filter sounds a little more cost friendly! Thanks for the feedback! πŸ™‚

  2. Polly, I really like these photographs – reflections are so intriguing; I like puddles because of this, and the work of Escher. I love the cracked pattern on the glass in the first photo. The series of photos of the aviators works really well, scaling into more and more detail. Lovely! Thank you.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

