Allowing Kid Creativity to Blossom without Editing Their Work


Finger Paintin’ Love. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A SINUS INFECTION IS INSISTING I GO TO BED… SOMETHING WISE WILL BE WRITTEN HERE TOMORROW SO PLEASE CHECK BACK 🙂

Two Toddler Hands Embrace the Task. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

The Mess to Absorb the Canvas Linens. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Makin’ a Jackson Pollock Impression in Her Mama’s Eyes. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Admiring Her Creativeness. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Contemplating the Process of Painting. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Between the Finger Paint. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Electric Light Painting Orchestra. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Heart of Painting Hearts. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Intent on the Creative Journey. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Painted Mean Dude. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Fingers and Finger Paints. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Rush’s Painterly-Styled Pirate Masterpiece

Lennon’s Jackson Pollock Meets Duchamp Piece (Unpainted by Number). Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOGGY-BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS! 🙂

42 thoughts on “Allowing Kid Creativity to Blossom without Editing Their Work

  1. these are delightful – i like the ones where we just see messy hands at work (or play), in focus. i agree with you too about editing and the worst thing is making a child stay in the lines! my boys are painting huge canvasses right now!

    • Thank you so much! You are so right… telling a child to color within the lines is the worst thing for a child’s creativity. I know I was told to color in the lines… and it made me terrified to draw on black piece of paper for a good time… until I overcame that fear! Thank you so much for your feedback. 🙂 I can’t wait till my children paint on large canvases 🙂

    • Definitely! Otherwise… how does one free themselves enough to paint abstractly… I know for me personally it took realize my drawings and paintings didn’t have to be perfect. Mistakes and abstraction are wonderful learning and creative tools. Thank you so much for your feedback!

    • Thank you so much! I know… creating with kids really opens your eyes to how free their creatives spirits are. Which is why my art professor (I took a course last semester… my blog is linked to this blog from that class in case you want to look at it) made us create tiny animals for an in-between projects project… it totally allowed the child, within us serious and perfectionistic students, to come out and speak. I made a tiny sea turtle… I try my hardest to learn from my children and mimic that sense of liberty attached to their creative imaginations. Children are wonderful and really have more to say and teach than one might think. Thank you so much for your feedback 🙂

    • Thank you! When my son was a toddler, I found myself telling him to stay in the lines… and as a result, he became extremely frustrated. Now, I don’t edit their work for I see how much more their imaginations truly come out in their little art projects. Thank you so much for your feedback… Rush used to color on the walls… magic eraser (Mr. Clean) was the only thing that would get the crayon drawings off our walls! Although, we have some wonderful ballpoint pen drawings on a few of our pillows that won’t wash out… kinda like them though… adds a bit of flavor to a boring pillow 🙂

      • You are welcome dear Polly. It would be so nice to learn more about you, through this Versatile award. This post is amazing, I wanted to be a child 🙂 Should be a great fun…. You captured so beautiful moments beautifully. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    • Thanks so much! I am so flattered! I’m a tad confused though… do I have to make a new post with my nominations… is that how it works? So fun and a great honor… and congrats to you as well, you versatile blogger you. You rock, Jimmie Chew… may you have 18 lives instead of only 9. 🙂

    • Thank you… just got back from the doctor… apparently, it is that time of year for sinus infections. Gotta love daycare and the germs the kids bring home. 🙂 Thanks so much for your feedback… Rush kept asking me to paint things for him because he said he couldn’t do it (like paint a train)… but I refused and told him he could do it if he practiced and tried hard enough… so glad I did because, even though a train did not appear on his canvas, his work turned out beautifully!

    • Thank you so much! The kids were so involved in their work they almost forgot there was a camera there… except when Rush wanted me to take photos of his painted hands… those images are all his improvisational skills… another creative angle pouring out in these photographs. I hope you will come back again and thank you so much for the feedback 🙂

  2. Awww 🙂 I still have some of the artwork my kids made all those many years ago. Things to treasure forever…and to look back on fondly when you feel like selling them to the lowest bidder when they become evil teens! lol

  3. Haha so true… I’m frightened of the teenage years to come… we shall see how it turns out! Such a different time we live in compared to when I was a child… no internet bullies to worry about, etc. Thanks so much for the feedback and for visiting!

  4. If art begins in the mind and then is produced by the hands, then as the mind expands and little hands grow in size and character these paintings will become so original that the artists themselves couldn’t make them quite the same way again. Lovely

Let me know what you are thinking :)

