A Child Organizes a Mess of Spiders into a Work of Art

How I Found Rush’s Spiders When I Came Back. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The other night, all four of us Nances wandered into a new Halloween store that moved in to replace the Boarders Bookstore that had closed. This store was awesome!! The displays were amazing and they had pretty much every type of costume you could think of… except Star Wars… :(. Lennon was slightly terrified of the spooky displays, but Rush actually enjoyed being frightened by weird things. Of course, we had to buy a couple of things to get into the spirit… and this bag of spiders was one of the treasures we brought home. They were supposed to be for Rush’s friends at school… the moms all make goodie bags for the kids on holidays… so I feel like I need to also! Haha! But the kids love the little nick-nacks they get, so I enjoy participating in the fun. Rush was dying to play with these spiders, and I told him he could if he didn’t lose any of them. I left him with an open bag of spiders for ten minutes… I came back into the room and he had organized them by color. I loved it! And I had to photograph this moment because he was so proud of what he had done. He is three and a half by the way. I guess I just loved how he turned chaos into order… so cool how they learn at this age. Anyways, I hope you enjoy these photographs! (By the way, I am sorry for not posting much this week… I have been pulled in a cool direction and I cannot wait to post about it… but I will have to wait a couple more days to boast about what I’ve been up to. ALSO, the United States Disc Golf Championship is next week… so please be thinking of my husband this coming week! He’s playing against pros… so we shall see how it goes… it is an honor and he definitely has butterflies…. you have those results and photographs to look forward to in a week or so!).

Spiders Ordered by Color. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Perspective of the Blue. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Through the Creepy Crawlies. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Pretty Little Diagonal Rows of Spiders. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Receding Spider Lines. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Conversing About Their Order. Polly Nance. Digital photographs. 8 x 10 inches.

A Focus on Blues and Greens. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Yellows Must Be Poisonous. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOGGY-BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

18 thoughts on “A Child Organizes a Mess of Spiders into a Work of Art

    • I’m so glad! I actually have given this child a camera… he’s so interested in what I’m doing. Loves to play with the tripod. I bought him this awesome digital camera made out of Legos and he’s taken some pretty awesome pictures… his thang is cutting peoples heads off. Seriously, I should post a series of his that he created unintentionally of every single one of us without heads! It’s funny but a little eerie… he was doing it because he would first look at the digital screen and then peep through the view-finder and since he could see the head in there, he thought it would come out right in the photograph. Ha!

  1. Hey Polly – When I first read the title of the post, I had to stop what I was doing on the computer and read the post. For a minute there, I thought you might have given him a nest of live spiders to play with. πŸ™‚
    So glad to see that wasn’t the case, however a couple of these shots make them look almost real. Rush must have decided the colors needed to be organized in groups. I think it’s always amazing to see the creativity of children.
    Good job, as usual !

    • Thank you! Haha I love how this post made you do a somewhat double take… Ha I didn’t even think to define them as fake! Whoops! I’m glad you liked them… Ha I promise I would never let my son play with REAL spiders!! I like how you said they look real… I think there is something about the hairy, wool that alludes to a hairy spider. Unintentional of course. But fun never less. Thank you for the kind feedback, as always! πŸ™‚

  2. Ha! My daughter loves to do the same thing with her animals. We call them set ups. She’ll take all of her plastic animals and arrange the into a migrating herd with a lot of thot put into where they are placed.:)

  3. I was reading about the Chinese artist Song Dong who took every item from his mother’s house and created an exhibit out of it, sorted by category. Perhaps Rush has a future as a conceptual artist. πŸ™‚

    • You know, that must be the artist I keep coming across on blogs… So cool! He’s the reason I thought to photograph Rush’s organization of spiders. I hope that’s in store for Rush… He’s so creative and thoughtful and I hope he never loses that spirit :). Thank you for the feedback!

  4. Usually spiders make me shudder, but these colorful ones made me happy! And I think it’s so funny your son organized them by color. I probably would have done the same when I was a kid. Love them!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

