Night-Time Drive-By Shots: Coming into the City.

An Attempt to Slow the Interstate View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

First off, I want to apologize for my lack of writing on my most recent posts. I haven’t written for a multiple of reasons… but I won’t bore you with my excuses because I want to focus on these images. These photographs go hand in hand with the daytime photographs, featured on my previous post (click HERE if you wish to view), because I feel they serve as a great compliment to the day drive-by shots. I love capturing these fleeting moments because I observe things I wouldn’t ordinarily focus on if I were just sitting back and enjoying the ride.

I was recently taught how to work my camera, while set in manual mode… I’ve tried to do so in the past but gave up after being frustrated for not being able to figure out how to change the ISO. So, thank god I had a photographer explain these things to me last week! What a difference you all are going to see in my photographs… or I hope at least. Anyways, I had to use manual focus as well in order to capture all the reflections you see in the daytime photographs… and no, they haven’t not been layered in PhotoShop… but I love that I got a comment reflecting how they appeared to mimic that effect. Love it! The manual focus allowed me to focus on the entire reflection… instead of the auto-focus confusing the camera because it couldn’t figure out what to focus on. I edited these with Lightroom, but when I say edit I really mean I crop them and maybe add a few touches, but I never layer or mask my images. I want them to look somewhat natural, unless I’m using that type of processing for a purpose.

I found my love for reflections while shooting with a point and shoot camera… somehow they turned out great (if you dig deep in the archives you will be able to find them) and I’ve wanted to experiment with my Rebel ever since. The photographs on this post were obviously taken at night… which was a bit of a challenge for me initially. I couldn’t figure out what setting to put my camera on… still learning… but I love these shots that were good enough to appear on this post! Maybe this is an amateur thing, but I still take hundreds of photographs in order to get 10 or so great ones. Anyways, I love a good night drive and it has been a long time since I’ve taken one. Or, at least, one that involved driving on the interstate. My husband’s two sisters live in McDonough, GA and there is a bit of a drive to get there from our house in the city. The lights and night-time ambience, of a night-time drive through the city, mesmerize me to the point where I feel compelled to photograph these moments. I love how a camera grants me the ability to slow time for a few seconds and absorb/ express all that I see and experience. And I love how a camera plays with lights when it is not held perfectly still. I hope you enjoy these photographs and, hopefully, you will feel the same thrills I felt while my husband drove us home one beautiful night.

Back to the Future of the Present. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Floating with Time. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Highway-Night Bokeh Fun. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Twist, Zoom and… Blur!! Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Reflecting the Night Drive. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Night Between Lanes. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Sweeping Past My Favorite Spot in the A. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Emerald Shimmers over Little Five Points. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I Guess He Needed Some Cash? Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Driving Past a Romantic Moment. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Haunting a House on the Hill. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKIGN THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK. 

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

P.S. For those of you, who have been following my blog long enough to know my husband is playing in the United States Disc Golf Tournament this week, get ready for some upcoming posts featuring coverage of the event… so far, the first round didn’t go as well as my husband had hoped. He wasn’t the only one that had an “off” day… unfortunately, many high-rated players screwed up a bunch as well. But, there are three more days and three more rounds to improve. Lot of big fishes playing out there… I’ve never seen a course like this before… so many roped off, out of bounds, areas you have to avoid.  I can’t wait to show you these holes! Anyways, you have some pretty awesomely crazy photos to look forward to.

16 thoughts on “Night-Time Drive-By Shots: Coming into the City.

  1. There is something about the reflections in your work. How you capture the ghost of that moment. The intensity of the emotion. The thrill held forever. In an image. I will have to write a poem for an photo of yours sometime.

  2. Great photos Polly ! –

    Not that I’m an expert, but I really like the image of the back of an old truck in Five points – the image fits perfectly with the area plus it could almost be a look back at years past.

    Similar situation with the photo of the drive in theater ! – brings up fond memories of my teen years – just turning 16 and out with a girl in a car and the theater speaker hanging on the window 🙂
    Thanks for the trip down memory lane !

  3. Polly, whether or not you are intentionally allowing your copyright logo to be part of the artistic creation, it really adds to your composition. Your blurred and reflection series are really strong. Don’t stop. Suzanne

  4. You’ve really taken me down to mama’s house this time. The reflection, and road shots on I – 75,or 85/ or where ever they are look great. And the little 5 points thing, wow, I have actually played music on a few stages around there. A little rock and roll spot called “9 – Lives” is the one I recall the most. Also played a few of the Buffalo cafe’s all around the Macon/Jonesboro/ Atlanta area. Wow, the memories are flowing through me like the lights from the tractor tailors, cars , bridges and street lights in your photos. Three Dollar Cafes, Stone Mountain, the planes zooming so close to the top of your car on the interstate while landing at Hartsfield-Jackson. Yeah, I once loved those night drives down through there too…you get the feeling of driving a Nascar when you go into those dips and curves 5 cars wide…door to door… Well, guess that does it…I need to go visit ma soon.
    Bless You
    paul

  5. I love night photography. It’s so neat to catch the lights. I have one done on long exposure where the lights turn to stars ..so cool!
    You do great work. I love that you took the drive-in sign. We have one here that I adore!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

