Gettin’ into the Winthrop Gold Groove: USDGC Round Two

Another Early Tee Time Shot of Hole 17. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Round two was a much better round for my husband. He played like he should’ve played the first round… but it seems like every golfer had their good and bad rounds at this tournament. This course is fantastic at challenging and humbling. I observed those that appeared confident after the first nine holes, quickly lose their focus when they began throwing OB and go downhill after that. The stroke plus distance penalties were brutal, which is why my husband Ricky found himself giving up towards the last couple of holes in the first round. There are four rounds… and each upcoming round is a new chance to seek revenge upon the holes that conquered one during their previous round. Ricky’s card for the second round consisted of some more wonderful peeps/ disc golfers including Derek Green (St. Louis), Dave Marlow (Cincinnati) and Travis Dick (West Virginia). The great part about starting off this round was that everyone on Ricky’s card was in the same boat as him… each hadn’t done as they had hoped in the first round. My sister in-law, Tracey, drove down from Chicago on her break to come to this tournament. She brought our new niece with her as well (three and a half months old). And that baby was so good that the players hardly knew a baby was accompanying. We started calling her “disc baby” and I cannot wait to share these memories with her when she is older. 🙂 I think it is important for the players to have some sort of support system accompanying them… I was good enough support, but I know my husband needed someone who knew the game like he did and who knew what discs to throw when and in what situation. I suppose that is why some bring caddies along with them… which is exactly what my husband did the final day. There isn’t too much to say about this round because my husband did so well… he shot four over par, which was a fantastic score for  him on this brutal course. I say brutal, but I really mean well designed. I heard a lot of bitching and whining in regards to the design of this course, but I personally knew why it was designed the way it was… it is good for the soul and is meant to challenge even the professionals. Dave, who was on Ricky’s card this round, was over fifty years of age and I loved that he loved the sport so much… he traveled all the way from Cincinnati, OH to be a part of the tournament… and I tell you, he looked great out there. Even though he struggled on a couple of holes, but who didn’t struggle?! 🙂 Most of these photographs are of my husband and the rest of his card that day, but I do have a couple of the final lead cards finishing up. I hope you enjoy these photographs… and be on the lookout for round three, which is soon to be posted 🙂

A Thumber Throw at Hole 3. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Derek and His Graceful Putt on Hole 5. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Reflecting Upon My Husband’s Disc Golf Game. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Hole 9: The Most Dreaded Hole on the Course. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Look at it Go. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Derek Verses the Bamboo Hole. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Great Putt Finish. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Dave Feldberg Making His Final Putt of Round Two. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

ROUND TWO USDGC GALLERY:

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG DISC GOLF POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Gettin’ into the Winthrop Gold Groove: USDGC Round Two

  1. Holly, be more critical of the shots you are posting and pick the very best in your opinion. I wish they shots were numbered so I could easily refer to them, if I wanted to comment specifically. Good work. Suzanne

    • Well, I’m posting these pictures for all the players… otherwise I would be more critical… they all wanted their action shots! 🙂 Haha… It is bothering me also that there is no way to refer to them… not sure how to fix that but I’ll try to think of something. Thank you so much for the feedback!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

