United States Disc Golf Tournament: The Final Round

Perfect Shot Around a Tree on Hole 2. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Round four of the USDGC was amazing!!! The previous days had been full of fun and learning to be a better disc golfer for my husband… Ricky felt like he had nothing to lose in round four, since he knew his score couldn’t possibly get any worse than the previous day. In addition, Ricky’s disc golf buddy Jack happened to be in town and called Ricky to see if he could be his caddie for the round. It’s too bad Jack could not be there for the other rounds because he was a fabulous caddie; he was just the type of support Ricky needed out there. Jack knew how to play the game and was available to help him come up with other ideas for possible shots. Plus, the poor thing carried his heavy bag the whole way. I only have enthusiasm and documentation to offer… that, and aid in getting one’s mind cool and focused. The round went pretty smooth (except for the third hole when Ricky hit and dented the Wintrop Gold sign… :)). The second to last hole was probably the one that gave him the most trouble… he tried to play conservative and safe on the holes he had screwed up the previous day. Hole 17 is a beautiful hole, but you either have to throw to the landing pad just below (the trees above the clearing after the tee pad had netting on them… so you couldn’t throw an overhead shot) or make it onto the green, which was surrounded by bales of hay. The lake was located directly behind the basket so if you over-threw your shot, then you would most likely go OB. Ricky’s disc looked like it was soaring perfectly, but then it hit the hay and landed in front of it, rather than behind where the basket was. It was, therefore, considered OB and he had to throw to the landing pad. Ricky had done so well on this hole until this round… but, his overall score dramatically improved compared to the day before. I was so proud of him!

We stayed afterwards to watch the lead cards finish up. I was dying to see David Feldberg play… I had only watched him on the last hole the following rounds. He is one of the top ten professional disc golfers in the world. Forgive me for not knowing his exact stats, but he’s insanely good and teaches disc golf at Oregon University… they gave him his honorary masters degree… and, stay tuned for my next post because I have proof of how insanely wonderful he is and what a great teacher he really can be. Anyways, it was a really cool experience following the Pros around… and some amateurs were on his card (like Charlie Coleman from Ricky’s first card). The best part of this round was, after everyone had finished and awards had been handed out, Avery Jenkins put on a distance exhibition. He and other players threw discs over the lake… Jenkins holds the top distance record for disc golf… he can throw over 600 feet. Being the amateur photographer that I am, I jumped at the opportunity to photograph these amazing athletes. I couldn’t find a good spot standing up so I quickly found my way to the front row and planted myself on my knees in the grass… I had a perfect spot. Now, I wish I was rich enough to buy myself a wide angle zoom lens, but my wide angle with no zoom will have to do for now. I enjoyed the thrill of disc golf and, especially, the thrill of watching Avery Jenkins and the others throw over the lake. They were flying by camera… I thought at one point that David Wiggins was going to run into me and my camera! I hope you enjoy these photographs and be on the lookout for more to come… I have some surprise bonus photographs that I will be posting next! You will have to wait in suspense until then…

The Definition of OB. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Pete Throws on Hole 3. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Side View of Ricky’s Throw on Hole 5. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Consulting the Caddie on the Final Hole. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The 8:32 Card: Round Four. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

David Feldberg Makes His Putt on Hole 16. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Avery Jenkins and His Beastly Throw that Went Over the Lake. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

This is the Lake, these Incredible Disc Golfers Were Throwing Over. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

David Wiggins Frozen in Disc Golf Time. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Jeremy Koling aka Big Jerm. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

FINAL ROUND GALLERY:

 

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VIEW AND VISIT MY BLOG.

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. 🙂

5 thoughts on “United States Disc Golf Tournament: The Final Round

  1. Pingback: United States Disc Golf Tournament: The Final Round … | Disc Golf Information

Let me know what you are thinking :)

