Driving to Rock Hill, SC…

Two-Way Road View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I took these photographs on the drive to Rock Hill, SC and the USDGC. I know I could have posted this post before all the tournament photographs, but my husband was dying for me to get those action shots on the blog. And so, I post them now! Awhile back,ย I posted some similar photographsย (to and from McDonough, GA), but that was when I was just beginning to learn how to operate my camera manually. Desiring to become comfortable in manual before the disc golf tournament, I took photographs for the last hour and a half of the drive. Photographers have always told me to take more photographs and more photographs and more photographs. And yes, I know I take that advice very seriously, but I didn’t want to fool around with not knowing what to do while photographing the golfers. You aren’t supposed to press the shutter button until after the disc has been released from the hand, so that the click noise won’t distract the golfers. I accidentally did this a couple of times, but it was nothing compared to the noise they would have heard if I hadn’t practiced on the drive up to Rock Hill! ๐Ÿ™‚

Again, I love the ephemeral feeling within reflections; these are temporal reflections that will disappear within moments of me shooting them. It brings me joy to see my perspective of our road trip documented with unexpected sightings. So many things I’d miss if I were looking down and playing on my iPhone. These images are fun because the reflections almost appear as if they were painted onto the landscape. I received a comment, the last time I posted reflective, drive-by shots, that made me laugh because the blogger couldn’t believe my images weren’t created with Photoshop. Maybe they look that way because when I first began experimenting with photography, I only had a point and shoot camera, and I most definitely did not have Photoshop. I wanted so badly for my images to look that way though… so I toyed around with ways to make layers (shooting through fabric, glass, etc) that I could photograph my subject through. Reflections caught my eye during that time. Anyways, I wanted these photographs to read as if the viewer were actually was seeing what I was seeing and feeling what I was feeling as we sped by the land along the interstate. I hope you enjoy these photographs… I know I’m still a work in progress, but it makes me extremely happy when I look back and see how I’m evolving. Thanks for readin’ folks. ๐Ÿ™‚

Reflectively-Painted Architecture. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Lost in the Brick. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Photographic Graffiti. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Moving Past the Power line Graveyard. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Blurred and Tinted Bricks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

To Turn Left, or to Turn Right. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Tinted Industrial Wasteland. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Southern andย Bewitched Rebel Flag Land. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Scenic Viewing of the Land We Pass. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Reflective and Superimposed Winthrop History. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Beauty in the Wind. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. ๐Ÿ™‚

20 thoughts on “Driving to Rock Hill, SC…

  1. Hey Polly –

    I do believe you accomplished what you intended. A nice set of photos, It would be difficult to pick a favorite one. Once again, Great job !

  2. The good thing about struggling to use simpler equipment is that it forces you to develop your skills, and in the end it must be more satisfying for you to achieve the desired result without the trickery of Photoshop. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have to agree with usermattw’s sentiment – don’t worry too much about photoshop until you’re satisfied you’re shooting the shots you want to. The best photographs are still photographs.
    Love this set. Reflections are so evocative. โ€œA Southern and Bewitched Rebel Flag Land” is incredible. Super work.

  4. These are really cool Polly, I think those reflected shot’s work wonderfully…Especially the third one where the reflection shows up on the side of that red building, almost like an image on a wall. Very nicely done.

  5. Lovely pictures! The reflection makes them more special and beautiful. Thank you for your visit to my blog polly ๐Ÿ˜€

Let me know what you are thinking :)

