Antique Grayscaled Obersvations at Piedmont Park

D.A.R. Building and a Contemporary Skyscraper Skyline. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I took these photographs awhile back (and some I may have posted previously), but I wanted to group these together in a post because they tell everyday stories about Piedmont Park. In addition, I feel as if these photographs are echoes of past histories appropriated into photographs of a contemporary culture. In other words, I find these photographs very telling of a park that has played a prominent role throughout Atlanta’s history and ever-changing landscape. It has remained pretty much the same (with a few tweaks here and there) and is still being loved, preserved and enjoyed by contemporary society. Which, is unusual for Atlanta; a city whose history has been covered up by development after development over the years… if only we could see remnants of the Old Peachtree Street during the Civil War era. Anyways, I chose a more artistic approach in terms of editingthis time. I wanted to feel that juxtaposition between the old and new within each, singular view of the park. I took these photographs as I walked around the park, so they aren’t all from the same spot. For those of you who have never been to Piedmont Park before, the park is fairly large… or, Β at least it’s the biggest park I’ve been to. πŸ™‚ I wish I could transport back in time and witness people floating in boats upon the lake. Nowadays, there are different rules and different sources for entertainment… but, it’s the same land. And, what a beautiful piece of property it is! I hope you enjoy these photographs. πŸ™‚

Genuinely Happy to See There is a Resting Spot for Him at the Park. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Moment of Sprinkler-Bliss. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

About to Land. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Another Day, Another Nap on a Cozy Park Bench. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Bench’s Sprinkler-View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Make Way for the Park. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Lights on a String Above the Tall Trees. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG BOAST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

28 thoughts on “Antique Grayscaled Obersvations at Piedmont Park

  1. Hi Polly, I like your photo, but dislike the watermark in it. It is too distracting to my opinion. Try to use it smaller or just leave it behind. Keep your photo’s in lowres so they cannot be used elsewhere. The second bench would do great on your wall!

    • Thank you! I appreciate the feedback and I’m going to look into changing the watermark but it’s a dilemma… don’t want my images to be stolen and watermark cropped off because I keep hearing so many horrible stories. I’ll work on it tho because I agree it’s distracting. πŸ™‚

  2. Howdy Polly !

    If it wasn’t for the skyscraper in the background, that first photo looks like it came out of the history books of days gone by.
    However, I think all the shots are great and I think a nice addition to your portfolio.

    Thumbs up !

  3. I always want to do bw shots but never feel anything I do looks as good that way. I really like how the benches worked out for you in this style πŸ™‚

  4. Polly, kudos on these photos. You have a particularly intuitive perspective of your environment.: each one of photos is spellbinding in their content and powerful as a body of work. Good for you in revisiting these photos and this is a lesson for us to do the same.
    Suzanne Mir

  5. I love the style you’ve given these, I think this kind of look can be overdone, but you’ve used it in a good context. You’ve really captured the atmosphere of the park. The bench with the sprinklers behind is my favourite.
    I agree with the comments above about the watermark, it is distracting, although I understand your dilemma. I only post shots which are maximum 1000 pixels wide and 72dpi – if someone is desperate enough to steal something at that level of quality, that’s their problem.

  6. Brian K. here…thank you for connecting with me on my Relationship -Appreciation post, my background 35 years in visual communications – Master Photographer, Photographic Craftsmen, AFP and about 50 other titles one can achieve in a career as a photographic illustrator – turned graphic designer / marketing consultant. Your work and direction is spot on – The only thing that I could possibly change or really suggest is for you to say
    “I am a professional photographer providing enjoyment for others with my body of work.” (I do enjoy your work) The power is in the words “I am” – I am is known to stand for the “God within” and it is away to attract what one wants to be in life. Kody B. of SOC says this and nothing more – “The stories of our minds – become the stories of our lives.” Sometimes we need to tell ourselves what it is we desire – will only come true if we act as if it has already happened. I am new at this blog stuff- can a guy that is “Double Nickle” figure out how to email you…not yet – but I will – I encourage you to keep at it – what you are doing is following your heart…that is all I did with encouragement when I was an aspiring amateur photographer at the age of 21 – I made it to master in 7 short years..just say “I am” and you will be.
    Your friend in visual communications
    Brian K., M.Photog, AFP, CNII /Sumner, WA

  7. I am quite fond of the last image in this post. I love the way the bulbs cut the image in half. I love the way the light reflects in each one differently. There is just something so thoughtful and magical about it. Sometimes I’m not so great at putting my emotions into words, and for that I apologise, but it is a lovely image and it makes me smile.

    I quite enjoyed all of these images and from what I have perused in your blog so far, these are my favourites! They’re thoughtful, personal, and well executed. You did a nice job of choosing the platinum/sepia toning to antique the images in contrast of the contemporary updates in your area. I really think you achieved what you were going for!

    Please keep up your photography. I am excited to see what you produce next! πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)

