Abstracted and Fragmented Fallness

Cold Fall Colors. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I’M COLD!! LOL…

Yes, I’m a Southerner from Atlanta, GA whose body was not made for cold weather. If its 70 degrees outside, I’m in some sort of jacket. I’m. always. cold. But, I am thankful that it is finally getting colder because we’v had a bizarre hot and cool autumn thus far. If you read my previous post, you’ll know that I recently received a new camera. While experimenting, I accidentally over-exposed an image and loved the effect. Maybe it’s my love of Man Ray and surrealism, but I often find creativity within my mistakes and experiments. Mistakes get the wheels a turnin’ and my mind a racin’. I have to admit I don’t feel as if Β this series is complete just yet. It feels more like a start to an idea. I’ve played around with under and over-exposure before, but never thought too much of these techniques. (I did, however, love this one image I produced of my daughter (you can see part of it at the top of my blog… her eye color became ever more rich against her ghostly, pale face.) I couldn’t stop staring at the beautiful forms of lines and colors, defining these fall trees in my backyard, which popped against the stark white and misty background. My eye was drawn to the high contrast within each composition. I found myself loving this special, unique viewpoint of a mundane subject I look at every single day. Love it when that happens. I truly feel the cold weather when I view them. And so, they became my next blog post idea. Anyways, I hope you enjoy this little experiment of mine. I hope to create a much grander set of photographs in the near future involving under and over-exposure. Twas just a starting point. Thank you!

A Colored Silhouette Defines the Fall Branches. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Without Leaves, There Is Beauty Within the Forms. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Captured Change of the Seasons. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Soon, All Colors Will Fall and Fade. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Cold and Leafy Underbelly. Polly Nance. Digital photographs. 8 x 10 inches.

The Shade Before the Shift. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Unity Transforming into Solitude. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Crumbles of Crisps. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Fanning Leaves Observe Their Destiny. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.Β 

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO VISIT AND VIEW MY BLOG!

AS ALWAYS, PLEASE FEEL FREE TO LEAVE ANY AND ALL FEEDBACK.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. πŸ™‚

30 thoughts on “Abstracted and Fragmented Fallness

    • So cool! Thank you πŸ™‚ I love the comparison to watercolor… oh, how i do love to paint! Although, watercolors are definitely not my forte… so maybe that is why I create photographs such as these. Thanks for your continued visits to my blog and support! πŸ™‚

  1. I do sort of like how trees look once they are stripped down and skeletal or bursting forth with fall color. I hardly ever take photos of trees at their greenest. I wonder why.

  2. Cold Falls Colors is my favourite, and is the best example of the fortunate accident you describe.

    Accident . . . experiment; their meanings are so close that the words are almost synonyms. Sometimes the final result of an accident is the same as that of an experiment, especially where art is concerned.

    • I agree… those two words are synonymous. Accidents provide growth as well as serve to spark ideas… Some of the best paintings I have rendered with oil paints have been as a result of a mistake. Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback πŸ™‚

  3. The fallen leaves strewn along the walkway – just beautiful. I also love \”Cold Fall Colors.\” Some people dread autumn because they know winter is just around the corner. But the colors – and absence of colors – in both are also beautiful.

  4. I like these very much, Polly. I’ve been rambling on about softness / blur in photos today, and these photos are a case in point of the benefits such softness can bring – very beautiful images. Adrian

  5. I love the overexposed look! I hope this doesn’t sound morbid but the first shot made me think of viewing vibrant autumn colors through the eyes of an extremely elderly man or woman, sort of through the scrim of age. Very evocative!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

