Where Hip Meets Golden Woodgrains in Charleston, SC

Golden and Engraved Shadows. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

This past weekend, the kids and I traveled to see some dear old friends in Charleston, South Carolina. My husband went camping with some friends, which meant a long ride in the car for me. šŸ˜‰ I was a tad nervous about the drive, because I know my daughter and how she acts at almost two years old, but it actually turned out to be a fun adventure. I loved and will always cherish the memories of the time I spent with my kids in the car for six and a half hours (times two). I took my time getting there and back because I knew the kids were going to need a few breaks. A three and a half year old and a two year old are fun travel buddies, but they aren’t quite old enough to grasp the fact that Mama is driving and cannot pull over every second they drop a toy or their DVD stops. Rush was pleasant, but Lennon was fussy for most of the trip. She doesn’t have the patience nor attention span for a movie unless it involves Elmo, so I came prepared with no-mess markers and paper. However, she kept dropping the markers and would scream at the top of her lungs until I pulled over and retrieved them for her. Haha! She managed to sleep some here and there so, overall, it wasn’t a terrible experience. I have a special place in my heart for these, not-so-smooth moments because I believe they help shape me into a better mother. If you lose your cool, the screams will only grow louder and so, you must deal and devise ways to entertain the restless youngins.

Kenny and Rachel Norsworthy were our hosts for the weekend… and what great hosts they were! On Saturday, they took us to a favorite local spot of theirs called AC’s. I ended up running into a former Tri Delta sister of mine, which made my day. I love how time passes and some people still look the exact same. I’m not sure if I do, but it was great to see a familiar face in an unfamiliar place. The kids loved this place because it had “games,” as well as chalkboards and colored chalk on the walls of the bathroom stalls. As a result, Rush wanted to go potty every five minutes so he could continue working on his drawing. It was a pretty rad bar and grille type of place with charming wooden booths that were carved with various names of those that had sat there. Might be shabby for some, but it was absolutely delightful and refreshingly cool to us. šŸ™‚

Laughter and Love Illuminate the Wooden Table. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Chalkboard and an Imaginative Three in the Bathroom Stall. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Kiss on the Cheek Amidst the Sunlight’s Golden Rays. Polly Nance. Digital photograph 8 x 10 inches.

Polyurethaned Reflections of a Golden Glass. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.Ā 

Shirley Temples and Nance Feet Love. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

A Mama-Son Art Duo Pauses to Admire their Colors in the Bathroom. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

As I Sit I Wonder, Who Carved this G? Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Girl with a White Napkin. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Do The Right Thing…. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

A Beer, A Window and a Menu. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS. šŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Where Hip Meets Golden Woodgrains in Charleston, SC

  1. It’s 4:30pm EST and after reading your story and reviewing your photos, I am ready for Happy Hour! There’s nothing like a quaint old bar dive and all it’s charm within. Loved your roadtrip story with the kids, it made me smile and reminded me of the many roadtrips I took alone with our two kids when hubby had to work or had other plans. That’s one of the reasons we earn the title, SuperMom! šŸ™‚

  2. Howdy Polly –

    All are wonderful photos, but I really like “The Girl with a White Napkin” – one eye barely visible over the top of the napkin and the top she has on with only the eyelashes showing – could almost be the beginning of a mystery ! Just Perfect šŸ™‚

    • I’m so glad you liked the story… sometimes I’m not sure what to write and what not to write… so I appreciate the feedback. Natural light can captivate and add interest to the mundane. Thank you!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

