Greta and Gray: Two Tales of Lost and Found

Gracie on Alert. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

On Christmas Day, we lost our first child. It was nine o’clock when we realized she wasn’t following us around. Silky and sweet, she carries our hearts in a bundle of snuggly fluff.. We wept like babies, confused and shocked by our unplanned loss. Outside, it was cold and rainy. It wasn’t like her to run away. We searched under beds and in closets, just in case. Printed flyers were hung on every telephone post, in our neighborhood, and shoved into mailboxes. The perfect pooch might possibly have been snatched up, we thought. If we were lucky, a neighbor might have her. After a sleepless night worrying, we awoke to find a missed phone call in our call log. A neighborly, elderly woman had found Gracie in the street, cold and wet. She took her inside and gave her a home for the night; toweled her dry then fed and loved on Gracie, hoping to find her owners in the morning. Our flyers brought her safely back to us. A happy ending to a tale of loss. We were extremely lucky.


Over-Exposed Close-Up of Gray. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2011.

I Know I am Cute. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

The very same day, we drove to the pet store. Pets up for adoption surrounded us on our walk inside. I’m not one to fall in love easily with a dog. I have a history of preferring cats. Don’t know why that is, but it is what it is. How easy it is to fall in love with a sweet doggy face smiling back at you from inside a cage; smiles with emptiness in need of love. I walked passed these faces unemotional and into the store. A row of cages sat right inside the entrance. My eyes scanned their eyes one by one until mine reached the final crate. Beautiful red tones with hints of gold. Her head was red with dapples of other reddish hues. She had my soul before saying hello. I read her story and was moved. Twice found in a shelter. Twice on the list to be euthanized. A woman, who dedicates her weekends and home to foster homeless animals, saved her from her fate. Or, perhaps that was not her fate. Greta is only two and a half years old; and the mother of two, who were taken from her. There are scars and signs of abuse. That same woman, who rescued her, operated on her bad hip; Granting her with a better chance to be adopted. She was sweet and beautiful and wonderful. I fell in love and, therefore, gave her a loving home. It has been three days since we were blessed with her presence in our home. She is quirky and urinates when excited or scared; but her trust has grown trusting and her love is now loving. She is fast as lightning and an incredible escape artist, despite having a bad hip. We will love her till the day she passes. She is welcome in our home. A happy face was lost and found twice, and then found again. A tale of hope for a tail that wags genuinely. 

Greta Has a Bad Hip. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

Beautiful Beagle Eyes with Permanent Eyeliner. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

Hesitant to Trust. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

Eyes and Nose. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2011.

She’s a Lady. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

Beginning to Trust the Camera. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2011.

A Beautiful Soul, Happy to Be Rescued. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2011.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

Peace, love until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends of mine. 🙂

AND A HAPPY NEW YEAR!

39 thoughts on “Greta and Gray: Two Tales of Lost and Found

    • Thank you! She has found peace and love so far… we are trying to love on her as much as possible. She howls like a hound dog… so cute. Thanks for stopping by and for your feedback 🙂 Hope you have a Happy New Year’s!

  1. I cried thorough this story! So glad it had a happy ending since when I first started reading, I thought the worst with Gracie, unsure what ‘lost’ really meant. I, too, share your undeniable love for animals. Our cat Cleo is a rescue 16 years ago and she is as spry as ever. We have taken in strays and found them homes. I think animals can sense a caring soul. ANY one who would abuse an animal is a monster to me. They are such sweet creatures desperate for affection and connection. Both Greta and Gracie are lucky to have you and you, them. Thank goodness for your kind neighbor as well! You all have made a new friend! Hugs.

    • Awww…. ha I didn’t think this post would be a tear-jerker but my facebook friends have cried through it too. Ha. At least all ended well. We thought the worst of Gracie too at first because she is not one to leave or run away… she’s one loyal companion. I’m so happy she’s home. She’s slightly perturbed we have a new dog but is slowly warming up to her. She is a pouty drama queen. 🙂 Hope you have a Happy New Year’s! 🙂

    • Thank you… i’m so happy you enjoyed the post! I love animals and wish I could find good homes for all of them. So sad that people abuse and mistreat their animals. Greta is a lucky girl and we love her dearly. Thank you for the feedback 🙂

  2. Two touching stories Polly, so glad you got Gracie back – that over-exposed shot of her reminds me of one I have of our Yorkie, Tess. We too would be distraught without her, and she was bought from an animal rescue centre. I can see Greta loves the camera, how could you resist those eyes!

    • Aww so glad you rescued your yorkie! Tess is a cute name. 🙂 Greta is slowly warming up to the camera… she was a little afraid of it at first but that only helped because she stood very still for me. Thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your animal rescue story. It brings my heart joy to hear stories about rescued dogs with a happy ending. Thank you and Happy New Year’s to you as well! 🙂

      • Tess is convinced that cameras only have one purpose – to take pictures of her! I only have to pick it up, and she’ll immediately make sure she’s showing her best side.

    • Thank you so much! I’m touched you enjoyed the stories so much. That day was so emotional, I had to share it with the world. Thank you for your kind words and I hope that you have a Happy New Year’s! 🙂

    • Thanks! So glad you enjoyed the post! It was unreal when Gracie went missing… hard to believe she wasn’t in the house. It wasn’t like her at all to not come when called. She’s stayed outside a whole night before by accident but slept on our front door stoop. We love her dearly! Thanks for readin’!

    • Thanks man! It was an unbelievable day. But, I fell in love with Greta and we’ve tried to give her as much love as possible. She is so soft and sweet and snuggly! She makes a great companion! Thanks for the feedback… Happy New Year’s to you! 🙂

    • Haha thank you! It’s pretty easy to make dogs look amazing… they are pretty photogenic if you can get them to sit still. 🙂 So glad you enjoyed the photos! Hope you have a Happy New Year’s!!! 🙂

  3. Ilove animal. I have 2 cats and my girlfriend has 2 dogs. It is a hoot when they are all get together. I also feed an outside cat that I need to take to a no kill shelter.She sits at my patio door all day and sleeps in blanketed dog cage at night. I tried to let her in but my female cat won’t let her….sigh.

    • I hope that isn’t our cat that sits by your door… haha only joking. Well, not really. We have a dumb cat that had to be kicked outside because she wouldn’t stop urinating on our furniture. I think we moved too many times and she got pissed. Literally. Anyways, we’ve been having problems with her going to a neighbor’s house because they feed her ham! What cat wouldn’t want ham over cat food? Hehe. Thank you for sharing your animal stories… sounds like you give a lot of love to animals as well. Wishing you all the best in the new year to come! Take care!

    • Thank you! Cats rock until they get pissed off about something… like moving homes. Ha! But, I still love them. They are funny creatures. Dogs are so loyal and loving. Thank you for your comment and a Happy New Year’s to you as well! 🙂

  4. You have touched my heart. We have two rescue dogs ourselves. Once, we thought we would buy a dog. That moment quickly passed when we went to the pound. Needless to say we came home with Casey our beagle. Lovely blog!

  5. I can’t imagine the relief when you found Gracie. Phew. How is she getting along with Greta?
    I also wanted to stop by and thank you for visiting my site and leaving your footprints. Many blessing to your doggie family in 2012.

  6. Pingback: A Disappointing Ending to a Previous Tale Plus a Happier Tale of a New Addition « WatchingThePhotoReelsGoRoundAndRound…

Let me know what you are thinking :)

