The Results of a Red and Blue PhotoShop Experiment…

To keep you visually entertained on a Sunday afternoon (if you aren’t watching football like my husband, that is), I am posting the results of a spontaneous Photoshop experiment. Two days ago, I felt the sudden urge to create something other than a photograph of what’s in front of me. I felt like being playful and patriotic, so I experimented with with color. I layered two different photographs together for each of these… usually one naturally designed by mother nature and the other by man. Who knows where these ideas are headed. Tis just a start! But, a fun start. I feel the wheels beginning to turn. And now, I leave you with these playful and purposeful juxtapositions.

Crumpled American Leaves and a Duct Taped Can. Polly Nance. Photoshop Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

A Self-Portrait and an American Tree. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

An American Leaf Skeleton and a Duct Taped Can. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2012.

Two Phases of American Life. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Seeing Through Duct Tape and Uniting the Designs. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Similar American Designs. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog.

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

Peace, love until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. 🙂

41 thoughts on “The Results of a Red and Blue PhotoShop Experiment…

  1. Cool!!! I really Like these Pics!! I like IMG_0727 (0727 are the last four digits of my cell phone #) and IMG_0176 the most!! Thank You Polly!! Very Interesting shots…To say the Least!!

    • Thanks! So glad to hear you liked that image… I think of them all, that is my favorite also. It was the first one I began experimenting with. Thanks so much for your comment and for stopping by! 🙂

    • You know… I always get bored with what I’m doing and often feel the need to experiment and expand. It just happens every now and again. Thanks so much for your comment and I’m glad you found my photographs enjoyable 🙂

  2. These are amazing Polly! The subject matters and color tones come together for some very unique and, beautiful and unexpected combinations. I love them all but felt myself especially drawn to “Two phases of American Life”, “Crumpled Leaves” and “Similar American Designs”.

    • Thank you! They are unexpected combinations… I was bored and started thumbing through old photographs… decided to brush up on my Photoshop skills and experiment. And then I started seeking out perfect pairings. An organic and spontaneous process, to say the least. Thank you for your feedback and I’m so glad to hear you were drawn to those photographs. 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m glad to hear I have a style. 😉 I just play around and things come together… people always tell me I have a style. I’m not sure what it is but I’m glad to hear I’ve still got it 🙂 Thanks for your comment 🙂

  3. I wish I had the patience to learn to use Photoshop as well as you have. Sigh.

    I really like the juxtapositions, especially the leaf and the can.

    But, that last one, wow, great, great, great abstract imagery!

    • You know, it’s funny you say that because until a 9 months ago, I hadn’t messed around with Photoshop in ten years. I didn’t know what to ask for Christmas from my parents so and I randomly thought of Photoshop one day. It definitely takes patience. I had a high school course on it ten years ago. It’s still the same… you work in layers… but, the possibilities are endless. And I love it. Thanks so much for your comment! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  4. Well done! These are very strong images. I would say your experiment is a roaring success.
    The images are haunting and engaging, I like how you put such opposing things together. And the colours are beautiful.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you think it was a roaring success. I’m never sure how I feel when I create something. At first, I love it. But then, I stare at it so much I see flaws and want to fix it. I let it go. Anyways, the point is, I never know what the response will be. I’m flattered that you enjoyed the photographs and think them haunting. Thanks for your feedback! 🙂

  5. Poly, I thought “Similar American Designs. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.” was very intriguing. If those are water drops in the background, then wow – great capture. ~Todd

Let me know what you are thinking :)

