Pulaski Polaroid Ruins

Downtown Pulaski, Georgia Ruin. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

I have driven past this small town of Pulaski probably 200+ times, while on my many drives to Statesboro, Georgia where dear family lives. Hundreds of times I’ve stopped at a stop sign, looked left then right, and then driven past what appeared to be remnants of downtown Pulaski. I have witnessed this same spot, so run down and overgrown at one time, freshened up with a face lift of new developments and fresh paint. Every time I pause at this stop sign, my eyes are mesmerized by an enchanting ruin that resides on my left… in direct juxtaposition with the newer, small town development strip to my right. Many a times, I have wanted to get out of my car and explore this incredible brick skeleton of a building that once was. I am drawn to, and charmed by, its rustic facade and utterly exposed interior.

On a drive home from Statesboro, Georgia this past Saturday,  I finally took advantage of my opportunity to stop and observe. I found this site to be incredibly powerful and moving as I walked around and observed its decomposition. It moved me as I pondered over the fate of its future. I am not sure how much longer the support walls and beams will be able to strengthen and uphold the worn facade. Nature appears to be moving in for the kill. But, tis a beautiful sight to document. In case you are curious, I edited these images in a way that I felt appropriate to my feelings and what I was observing. I wanted these photographs to look somewhat vintage and have a semi-polaroid feel to them. In other words, I wanted these photographs to look like what they would have looked like had I taken them as a child in the 80s; with a hint of polaroid and flare of color film. Lord knows, I would have either had a polaroid or a disposable color film camera to shoot with. Anyways, just a bit of nostalgia combined with a desire to explore in these here photographs below…

Revived Town View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Ghostly Town View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

One Antiqued Door Hinge Remains. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Looking Through Pulaski’s History. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Enlightened Brick. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2012.

An Overgrown Foundation. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

A Chipped Interior that Resembles Graffiti. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Exterior Remains Flanking Interior Remains. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Will This Frame Remain Forever?. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2012.

Polaroid Bricks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

A Crumbling Facade. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog.

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Pulaski Polaroid Ruins

  1. Wow – although fascinating to photograph (and well done, by the way), it’s sad to see buildings like this that have possibly just been forgotten about, or no one has any interest (or money) to keep them in good condition.

  2. Howdy Polly –

    You did an excellent job of photographing history. Great editing which I think ads realism to the photos…….

  3. Lovely, evocative ruins. I like the idea of nature taking over the remnants of civilization, particularly in an urban setting, because the juxtaposition is more pronounced.

    You’ve inspired me to go out and take some more pictures.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

