A Photographic Performance of Light

I am in love with light. I’m also obsessed with painting with light. I am still learning and still pushing myself to be a better photographer any chance I get. The other day, I noticed how beautifully the light was shining over our backyard and immediately grabbed my camera. I took photographs of our rock wall and of these dangling, dried leaves that looked so vulnerable when in isolated frames. I love that I can manipulate my photographs by altering the shutter-speed, etc. because I have the power to create and erase form, depending on the amount of light I allow inside. I wanted to conduct an experiment, where I could compare similar images of different exposures in order to visualize the various of effects I can achieve. That might have been a run-on sentence, but I’m just going to move on. πŸ˜‰ Anyways, I hope you enjoy the little light show I planned for all you bloggy-readers below!

A Dangling Dead Leaf Dances in the Light. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Rainbow Light Rocks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Tree Silhouettes and Sunlight FlaresΒ . Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Two Dead and Dry Leaves. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Rainbow Waterfall over My Backyard Rocks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Dangling, Over-Exposed and Windblown Leaf. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Trees in the Light. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

The Rocky Orange Glow. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Macro Rocks in Perfect Exposure. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Blurred Sensation. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Pink-and-Blue-Tinted Rocks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Delicate Light and Delicate Branches. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Playing with Light and Reflective Views. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Pinks and Greens and Mossy Rocks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “A Photographic Performance of Light

  1. Howdy Polly –

    Great choice on your header photo !

    I really enjoyed the “Two Dead and Dry Leaves” and “The Rainbow Waterfall”. There is just something unique about those 2 old dried out leaves…………

    • Ha thank you… it was definitely time for a new header photo… I was surprised by all the feedback I’ve gotten on that photo… including on facebook. I feel a lil silly in that photo cause I look so serious. πŸ™‚ So glad you enjoyed the post… I love the dry leaves one too. I almost cut that one out… but I had to keep it. Something enchanting about it. Thanks so much for the comment πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)

