New Moon Project

My intent is to create a series, where I photographically document the phases of the moon. The moon has always bewildered me; I know it has bewildered folks for centuries… Nothing original being created here; just me, desiring to satisfy my own curiosities surrounding the moon. It’s beauty is enchanting, yet haunting. There are a few nights, during the moon’s cycle, where it cannot be seen at all… Or so I’m told. I am no scientist. Anyways, and if I can remember to photograph the moon every night, I plan on creating photographs of the moon as it can be seen from my backyard.

The photographs below are of the moon as I saw it in my backyard… on February 5th, 2012… No touch ups beyond tiny exposure-correcting tweaks. The moon that night was surrounded by a ring of clouds, which flowed as a thick white blanket with the strong wind currents. Its image kept Β changing in composition, which immediately sparked inspiration. A beautiful glow of pinks and oranges and purples cascaded upon the cloudy fluff as the moon shined proudly; I felt as if I was participating in a magical light spectacle. It was as if I was meant to catch this delicate moment on film… Or flash card. Dang. The world is getting incredibly digital these days. I love it and hate it all at the same time. Anyways, I hope you enjoy the moon on February 5th, 2012 as seen in the Atlanta, Georgia sky.

A Cat’s Eye Moon. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Moon-Mood Ring. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Star-Shaped Ring Around the Clouds. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Creepy Cloud Moon View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

A Shooting Moon. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Too Beautiful for Fancy Planet Words. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Angelic Ambiance. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Moon for Monet. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

In the Spirit of the Moon. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

A Celestial February the 5th, 2012 Moon. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog.

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. πŸ™‚

45 thoughts on “New Moon Project

    • Thank you! I know, they are surreal… the funny thing is I had taken a picture of the moon earlier in the day… cause it could be seen. Then it become dark and I looked up again… the view was incredible. The colors were mesmerizing. Thanks for your comment, Holly! πŸ™‚

  1. Wow, great photos. The celestial objects always fascinate me, and your photos are too amazing. Thanks for sharing, great work. πŸ™‚

  2. terrific photos. I saw the same sort of moon yesterday but I’m not sure if my photos are going to show it as well as yours.

    • You know, I have attempted to take photos of the moon before and they never turned out that great. I’ve learned since then how to work my camera manually and it has made all the difference. I’m sure your photographs are great. And try again because you’ll be amazed at how you are capable of evolving. I hope to see your photos πŸ™‚ Thank you for stopping and by and for your feedback!

  3. Nicely done Polly,.–you are doing the phases of the moon, which is a worthy endeavor. Hope that you view my latest post where I took the sunset on February first (Lens and Pens by Sally). I have the same intention, only with the setting sun, Sally

  4. I love looking at the moon and taking photos from my deck with my point and shoot camera. These photos are excellent and I look forward to seeing more!

    • Thank you so much! The moon is incredible. I’ve tried to photograph the moon several times, but they never turned out this good. Perhaps, it was just the right moon moment for a good photograph. Thank you so much for your comment!

    • Thank you! I’m so glad to hear you found them magical… I’ve never seen the moon like this before, so it was a magical sight for me as well. Or maybe I’ve just never paid that much attention to the moon. Thanks again for your comment! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! You know, I have tried multiple times before and wasn’t very successful. The first night I got my Canon rebel, I took photographs of the moon that turned out kind of beautiful. But, I had the flash on so it kind of ruined the feeling of the moment when I later looked at the photographs. I think this moon was just the perfect moon for a perfect photograph! Thanks for stopping by and thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! Ha… I always get bored with still shots after awhile. I accidentally moved when I took a photograph and then was inspired to create a shooting moon. I’m surprised it turned out so well. Although, I did shoot about 30 photographs like that which didn’t turn out. Thanks for the feedback!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed them! I’m not sure the rest in my series will turn out as great because this particular moon was mesmerizing. But, it is a challenge nonetheless. Thank you so much for your kind words! Keep gazing πŸ™‚

  5. I wanted to you know that I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award, and certainly you deserve it. Please see my post from today at “Lens and Pens by Sally” to see the details. Congratulations, Sally

    • Thank you! Yeah the moon is tricky… I tried to hold as still as possible… the ISO made the photos a tad grainy but, to me at least, I think it adds to their charm for some reason. Plus, the lens I was using has a really low f stop. Helped a tad. Thanks so much for your feedback and your experience photographing the moon! Each time I took a photo, the moon would change in composition… clouds would move in, etc. So I tried to capture all that I could. πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)

