Naturally-Man-Made Trash Installations at the Nature Preserve…

A Broke-Down Chair and Some Trash. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

The Trash-Man; Looks Like Sesame Street, Except It’s Real. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Seat in the Sand. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

The Ghost of Trash. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

‘Look, Mama! A Bottle in the Water! That Gonna Make the Fish Sick. That Not Fair, Mama!’ Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Broke-Down Chair and Some Kids. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Scenic, Urban Nature-Preserve View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

My Almost Four Year Old Found This. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Naturally Decomposing Ones and One that Cannot. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Haunting Beauty. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

What a Waste. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Man-Made, Tangled Plastic Bag Installation. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Leafy Sculpture Ball. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Garbage. And Rubbish. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

Another Scenic Nature Preserve View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

We Must Fix This, If We Still Care. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 4 x 6 inches, 2012.

A Broke-Down Chair and One Kid Playing in the Sand. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 6 x 4 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. πŸ™‚


21 thoughts on “Naturally-Man-Made Trash Installations at the Nature Preserve…

  1. When I go to parks or preserves here in VA I also take notice of the man-made vs natural world. The contrast is interesting…Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  2. It’s interesting putting your children playing in the area with all that trash, it makes a big statement. And yet it seems you have put no judgement on it, it’s up to the observer to decide. I like that. A meaningful series.
    I particularly like that old broken chair and it’s reappearances. I think in it’s previous life it had lovely form.

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful words. At first glance, the creek at the nature preserve seemed clean… but then, i noticed trash scattered and hanging everywhere in the trees nearby. It seemed appropriate to have the juxtaposition of my kids and the human waste. I’m so glad to hear you found meaning within this series… and, I agree, that old broken chair looked like it was awesome at one point. Comfy too! I wonder how it got there? πŸ™‚ Thanks again for the feedback πŸ™‚

  3. Agreed with the above comments — you can really look at these pictures with two (or more) very contrasting lenses, as it were. My immediate reaction is, oh god, that’s sad/ugly/what is wrong with people? But there’s a part that really fascinates me, seeing remnants of what people left behind. Some of it is really just visually striking, too, divorced from any environmental context, like the “Garbage. And Rubbish” one and the first two in the series. Very interesting!

    • You describe my thoughts exactly, dear friend. I was repulsed viewing the waste, but yet, I could not stop taking photographs of it. And it amazed me that my children were playing so close to it. It could be worse, I suppose, but it still infuriates me. You are also right in that I felt like leaving these images up to the observer for interpretation. They are obvious in terms of subject and context, yet I wanted them hauntingly beautiful enough so that the viewers that would normally turn their heads, wouldn’t be able to turn their heads.Thank you so much for your thoughtful feedback. πŸ™‚

  4. I like this series very much… there is beauty in everything and yet I find it strangely disturbing to then see photos of beautiful children.. very thought provoking which is always good.

  5. I agree- I have a mix of repulsion and attraction to these. They remind me a bit of Cindy Sherman, actually.

    Also, thanks for liking my post! I look forward to seeing how your work develops. πŸ™‚

    • You just made my day saying my work reminded you of Cindy Sherman. I hadn’t even thought of her when I posted these. I like that thought. Thanks again for your feedback and so glad to hear you will be back! πŸ™‚

      • πŸ™‚ Glad I did! She did a series that had trash and masks and dolls (if I’m remembering correctly). It was beautiful but also a bit hard to look at. Anyway, keep up the awesome work!

  6. Good work Polly. This is really hits home for me. I’m constantly dragging trash out of the bush, left from inconsiderate people. Beer bottles, condoms, napkins, coffee cups, balloons and even a broken type writer. My advise – always carry extra garbage bags (and work gloves) to carry junk out and take pictures of people littering to post them. We need to rejuvenate the “Don’t be a Litter Bug” campaign of the 70’s-80’s which really helped.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

