Rural, Rainy Weather Drive-By Shots

Last Thursday, I drove with my parents to Statesboro, Georgia for my Great Uncle Lamar’s funeral. The drive was icky because it began pouring rain on us about half way through. However, I found the rain and the cloudy sky to be fantastic subject matter for a photographic series. These photographs were taken as my father was driving (as I mentioned), which is why I term them “drive-by shots.” If you are a regular follower of my blog, you will know I have created many series previously in a similar fashion. However, I think these images are much stronger in comparison to others. I desired to isolate and capture various fleeting views that would showcase my viewpoint on the wet road; and also the speed of our vehicle. I attempted to keep the camera as still as possible, so that each image would seem more stable and less impressionistic. In the past, I have set my camera on a lower shutter speed, so that I could capture an impression of a moment… and the results were beautiful in their painting-like smears. But for this series, I did the exact opposite. I shot these with a faster shutter speed so that the subjects would appear more frozen in time; in the moment. Some of these were taken during the torrential downpour and others were shot after the rain. I live in the city and, therefore, am fascinated by the rural landscape because it is a contrastingly different than what I see on an average day. My mother’s side of the family is from the country, so I do have that link to the land. To me, there is nothing more beautiful than a rustic, broke-down barn and the vast outstretch of natural, native terrain. I found that the rain added a hint of enchantment and mystery to each composition. I hope you will enjoy these photographs as much as I did shooting them. (Oh, and if you have a facebook and enjoy my photography, please support me by liking my facebook page! I post photographs from my blog posts, but I also post others that never make into my blog. :)) Have a happy Tuesday, folks! 😉

A Barn and a Tree Become a Calm During the Storm. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Nature and Our “Nurture.”. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

An Earth-Toned and Moistly Dry Moment. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

A Fleeting Puddle of Trees. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

The Lone, Rainy-Day Tree. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

The Rainy and Windy Tree Dance. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Rainy Day Contrast. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches, 2012.

A Smudge of Wet Countryside. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

A Trace of Bad Weather. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

The Circle of Trees Amidst the Rain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Shooting a Wet Rural Landscape, While On the Go. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Fallen Debris and Some Greens. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Driving-By and Shooting the Sky On that Rainy Day. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches, 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Rural, Rainy Weather Drive-By Shots

  1. Nice set of pictures, Polly, good stuff! I like the last one very much, a very moody sky and suitably drab land down below. Rany day contrast is also good, and the one below it. Good photography! Adrian

    • Thank you! I was having some difficulty juggling riding in a moving vehicle, the rain and spotting an interesting subject worthy of being photographed while trying to get the exposure right and manually focus. My sigma lens does not auto focus on my canon for some odd reason. Anyways, I’m glad some of these still came together and looked alright. Ha. It was fun though. Thanks so much for your comment 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

