Cliche, Yes, But a Much Beloved Subject… CHERRY BLOSSOMS!

Cherry Blossoms are White, and Cherry Blossoms are Cherry…

AND THE CHERRY BLOSSOMS ARE IN BLOOM!

…a good three weeks ahead of last year’s blooms (which I photographed of course). I missed photographing the early stages of their blooming process due to laziness (just being real). However, I managed to capture the delicate and temporal moment when cherry blossom blooms turn from white to pink. I look forward to this moment for I know what sight is to come… A glorious snowfall of scattering pink petals, sprinkling color onto the early spring landscape. This moment is precious, for it is the final stage of existence for the cherry blossom blooms. Their presence is a fleeting beauty; the blooms are only with us for a couple of weeks. Yet, their presence is so memorable that I eagerly anticipate their emergence every spring season. I tried to capture the cherry blossom blooms with an expressive tone… accentuating their delicate and temporal presence by playing around with depth of field. I photographed them in the cool of the morning, before the sun became too bright. I hope you all will enjoy this moment I had with a cherry blossom tree… it was glorious and spiritual…

1. White Cherry Blossom Bliss. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

2. A Blur of Cherry Blossom Clarity. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

3. Turning Pink and Beautiful. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

4. A Strand of White Cherry Blossom Blooms. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

5. An Electric Pink, Green & White Cherry Blossom Slide. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

6. Sunbathing Pink Blooms. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

7. Ephemeral Whiteness. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

8. Impression of a Cherry Blossom Tree. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

9. In Miraculous Transition. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

10. A Cherry Blossom Center. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

11. Golden White Forms. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

12. Tufts of Soft Cherry Tones. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

13. Bokeh Vision of One Cherry Blossom Bloom. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

14. The Color of a Bloom. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

15. The Cherry Blossom Swing. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

16. A Smaller, But Equally as Beautiful, Cherry Blossom. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

17. A Cherry Blossom Feather Duster View. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

18. Close Encounter with a Cherry Blossom Petal. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

19. The Beginning of Pink Petal Scatters. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Cliche, Yes, But a Much Beloved Subject… CHERRY BLOSSOMS!

  1. Gorgeous! Well captured! I’m particularly fond of #18’s Close Encounter.

    Out of curiosity, what kind of lens did you use for these? I’ve yet to make the jump to interchangeable-lens camera, and it’s shots like these that make me realize how limited my equipment (and knowledge) is. Everyone knows that a wide aperture leads to a shallow DoF, but I’ve read (and had success with) a long focal length, too— but nothing so dramatic as this. How do you do it?

    • I used my Canon 100mm macro lens… takes beautiful photographs. I also used a hood so the light wouldn’t be so harsh (the giant one that came with it). I’m so up with the technical language… I know how to work my camera manually but I am self-taught. Haha. But basically, I try to get get in as close as I can once I find a composition worthy of photographing. Then, I set my aperture to the widest possible (depending on if it’s a detal or not) and manually focus the shot so I can pinpoint what to focus in on. After that, I make sure the shutter speed is doing what I want it to do with the light in my photograph… in order to dramatize and realize the light/shadows. I am not expert either… just been photographing and experimenting every day like a crazy woman for an entire year now. I’m just beginning to understand how it all comes together 🙂 Hope that makes sense and helps! Thank you for your comment 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

