Hobson Grove Sunset Treasures

Last week, my husband and I drove five and a half hours to Bowling Green, Kentucky for the Amateur Championships (aka a disc golf tournament).  Thrilled to be out of the car and away from worldly worries, I jumped at the opportunity to tag along with my husband while he played a practice round at the Hobson Grove Disc Golf Course. I could not wait to walk the trails and uncover hidden worlds with my camera lens. Lucky for me, we hit the course at the perfect time of day. As we approached the first hole, the sun was casting visible golden rays upon the greens; this shower of golden light created a dramatic lighting effect, highlighting some while casting intense shadows upon others. It was about an hour prior to sunset. One round of disc golf usually lasts about an hour and a half to two hours. But, because of the tournament, some holes were backed up with players waiting to throw. I was mesmerized by the light on this particular course. The course was incredible… parts of it were wide-open and tamed, while other parts were wildly overgrown and organically stunning. As I walked from hole to hole, I began to notice the sky turning colors. I found myself wandering to a lone blooming tree. It’s view from afar was breathtaking beneath the sunsetting skies. Up-close, there was a multitude of dimly-lit, colorful angles to choose from. I explored this tree until it was time to move on. The day then transitioned into night…

The Grass is Sunshine Green! Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Balancing the Yellows. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Reflection on the Green. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

A Scattered Mosaic Pathway of Impressed Bottle-Caps. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Fungi in the Making. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Deadly Stunning Wood. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Trees in the Sky. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Pinks and Yellows and Greens! Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

A Lone Tree Beneath a Sunsetting Sky. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Between the Split. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Vertical Cropping of a Horizontal Expanse. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Dimly Lit Pinks. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

An Opening in the Blooms. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Finale of Pink Before It Turns Black. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Silhouettes Against a Sunburnt Backdrop. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Transition. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback!

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Hobson Grove Sunset Treasures

    • Thank you! I probably photographed that little yellow flower fifty times until I spotted this composition while shooting vertically. A lot of hard work for one silly shot, so I’m thrilled to receive your comment!! Thank you do much for the feedback, as always 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

