A Black-and-White Parade of Easter Images

Happy Easter from the Nance Family!!

My husband and I aren’t religious people but we, like most folks in the US, celebrated Easter this past Sunday with close family. Traditionally, the Hoyts (my dad’s side of the family) meet for lunch at the Piedmont Driving Club. My grandparents began this tradition when I was little and it has since continued. I have never not spent an Easter there. It amazes me how my childhood has come and gone, and that my kids are now the ones participating in the same Easter traditions I did as a child. I get nostalgic thinking about the days when I used eat at the Club with my grandparents, aunts, uncles and first cousins. The days when my grandparents still had youthful souls, able bodies and wise words (and stories) to share. My grandfather passed away last year, but we were fortunate enough to still have Grandmere (my last living grandparent) there with us. I’m sure its surreal to  have four great-grandkids, but I love watching the great-grandkids bring joy to her face. The kids favorite part of lunch was running around outside, where the Club had strategically placed giant plastic eggs for the kids to play with.

After lunch, my husband and I hid eggs around our backyard for our two kids to find after they woke up from their naps. I thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of watching my kids eyes light up as they searched for eggs to fill their basket. The smiles on their faces will forever be branded in my mind as a memory I will never forget. All in all, it was a great Easter! I hope you all will enjoy these black and white photographs I took, while documenting our Easter. Thanks for readin’ and, for those of you who don’t celebrate Easter, I hope that you all had a fabulous weekend as well. And a Happy Easter to those of you that do celebrate!!! 🙂

Rush and Lennon After Our Easter Egg Hunt. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon Finds an Egg. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Rush Festively Holds a Bunny. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon’s Easter Bow. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Rush Hiding From the Easter Bunny. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon Plays in a Fountain. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Beautiful Grandmere. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Cousins Running Back and Forth on Easter. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Wynne. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon Watches the Band. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

An Easter Bunny and a Shy Eye. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Giant Easter Egg Toss. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Little Thompson. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon at Age Two on Easter. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Easter Basket and Some Easter Legs. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Running with Cousins. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Cousins of Cousins Enjoying Easter Playtime. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Lennon in Time-Out. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Bubble Blower View of an Easter Hair Bow. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog readin’ friends. 🙂

23 thoughts on “A Black-and-White Parade of Easter Images

  1. Your Photos of Easter are wondrous – as a retired master photographer – I appreciate your dedication to your art and craft – you should be rewarded for that passion –
    Send three free greeting cards on our system to your loved ones that are in photos with our SendOutCards system – you can put as many photos as you like in three -two panel cards… just go to http://www.WBPCards.com and click send a free card…thanks for all the enjoyment you give us with your art.
    Brian & Terri….

  2. Pingback: Glorious photos everywhere! « For Words

  3. Hah, Easter Legs!

    Portraits in black and white are always effective, but these ones are particularly interesting ‘cos it’s Easter, which is traditionally all about being as bright and colorful as possible. (I wore gray to church, and I felt a little out-of-place.)

    As usual, these are all really well-done. I love the exposure on the first one (“After the Easter Egg Hunt”), and “Giant Easter Egg Toss” is one for the albums. 🙂

    • Love that you wore gray on Easter! Too funny! I thought to keep these in color at first but, since my kids were reminding me of my childhood, I chose black and white out of nostalgia. Thanks so much for your feedback and comment. Glad you enjoyed my Easter photos! 🙂

    • Thank you! I also am a huge fan of color… but, for some reason, I felt compelled to turn them into a black and white. I still see color when I look at these images… perhaps because I just imagine all the pastels of easter. Plus, I think the color distracts from the point of each photo… distracts the eye. But, perhaps that is just me. Anyways, black and white is classic and I think these turned out pretty well. Thank you so much for the feedback!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

