The Tale of a Like-Minded Mother and Son…

The Tale of a Like-Minded Mother and Son. Polly Nance. Photoshop digital photograph. 2012.

I have decided that, for the second part to my series: The Children Must Grow Up, I will post one image at a time. I feel as if it is too overwhelming to throw 15 to 20 images at my viewers all at once. Plus, I’ve worked extremely hard and am deeply attached to these images. I’d rather slowly leak them out, so I will not feel as if all my hard work is summed up into a mere two posts. With that being said, if you didn’t get a chance to look at PART ONE: CLICK HERE! With each new posted image, I’ll supply a brief commentary of what I was thinking when creating each image. This particular image is a double exposure (combined in Photoshop) and contains a photograph of myself as a toddler in diapers and also a photograph of my toddling son. I thought these two images would make an outstanding and humorous pair because we are both caught on camera getting into something. My son is in the process of knocking all the DVDs off the shelving and I’m getting into the dishes. I toned the image of myself with light pink tones and the image of my son with light blue tones… and created a purple glow at the bottom in order to show how meaningless and blurred the line is when it comes to defining genders for a child at that age. Both genders are curious and naive and will get into just about anything they can get their hands on. There is no awareness of boy verses girl. Such a fun age! Little terrifics and little terrors. Anyways, I hope this image makes you giggle and that you will all tune back for more posts from this series! A big thank you and shout out to all my followers who have stuck with me for so long! I appreciate your continued support and feedback! And, for all those of you dwelling in the US, I wish all of you a

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!Β 

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The Tale of a Like-Minded Mother and Son…

  1. Dear Polly, we are old friends on this blogging lark now and I’ve seen the previous post in this series but am going to respond to this one first.

    Well first though >>> I gather you’re not well, and I hope your ailments are receding now – all good wishes for your full recovery!

    I like this new project of your’s and I think it a very wise decision to publish photos one at a time – because its less work for one thing! – but mainly because it focuses your audience’s attention on just one photo, and makes it far easier for them to comment on it. I started off blogging with multi-image posts but, after awhile, “went single”.

    If many photos are presented all at once, it can be very difficult to talk about them – I have to say “3rd down from the top” or something like that – I have to count them them first! Its better if each photo has a title, but I still have to go and look – and sometimes I’m not sure whether the title refers to the photo above it or the one below >>> PLEASE DO understand that I’m not talking just about your blog here, but about >>>any blog that publishes many pictures at once.

    I like this new project of your’s. I like the imagination you’re putting into it – its innovative! So, keep on keeping on – and I hope you feel better soon. Adrian

    • Thank you so much Arian! I truly appreciate you taking the time to give me such thoughtful and sincerely honest feedback! Just what I needed. I’ve been thinking for awhile now that I need to go to single photo posts, so it is extremely helpful to receive such GREAT criticism. Thank you so much and I’m so glad you are enjoying this project!!! πŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)

