Adventures with Ash and Oliver…

The Oliver Shake. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

This past weekend, I drove to Greenwood, South Carolina to visit a dear friend of mine. Lyndi decided that it would be a fun adventure to camp beside the river and then float the river in a canoe the very next morning. Since Lyndi was bringing her dog Oliver along, I decided it would be fun to bring along my seven-month old puppy Ash as well. This was Ash’s first camping and canoeing experience. We had to shave him before we left because his coat was so thick, and I knew he’d be miserable out there on a canoe all day if we didn’t. Thankfully, Lyndi knew how to shave a dog. However, Ash didn’t fully cooperate with us so we decided to fix it later (there was too much hair!). Lol! He looked like he had lost ten pounds when Lyndi was finished with him.

Anyways, out on the river we stopped for lunch on a rocky bank. Ash was a little nervous about the water and the canoe, but he had fun exploring none the less. Oliver, on the other hand, was a pro at playing in the river. He never grew tired of fetching sticks and rocks out of the water. He is a fantastically strong swimmer! Each time Oliver would exit the water, he’d rub himself in the sand until his coat was fully dirtied. It was the cutest sight in the world to observe these two, free-spirited beings. Obviously, I had an absolute blast as well! The setting was incredibly green and peaceful. The river water reflected like glass as we floated with the current. I know I said I was going to begin posting one photograph per post, but I thought that this tale deserved multiple photos because it would have been hard to sum it all up in one image. I am also taking a short break from my The Children Must Grow Up Series. I need to take my time with those images. I didn’t want to feel rushed to the point where I wasn’t describing my thoughts in words alongside my images (which happened a couple of times). I hope you all had a great past weekend as well and please enjoy these photographs! Feel free to comment if you have something (anything!) to share 🙂

Ash’s First Time Wading in the River. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

A School of Tadpoles. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

An Oliver Lick. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

A Timid Ash. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Sunscreen Rubbing Off in the River. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Oliver Searches for a Rock. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Oliver Found One. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Oliver’s Hearty Rock Find. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Plethora of Rocks Oliver Did Not Pick. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Ash Waiting Anxiously on the Riverbank. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Oliver in the River. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Oliver: Muddy and Enjoying Life at the River to the Fullest. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Furthest Ash Would Walk into the River. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

No Fear. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

The Only Way to Get Oliver Back into the Canoe. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Adventures with Ash and Oliver…

    • Thanks Holly! It was a really fun adventure for the pups. I had many opportunities to get a shot of Oliver shaking the water off of him… he’s hilarious! Glad this one turned out well enough to be commented on. Thanks so much for your feedback 🙂

    • Thanks so much! Yeah… Oliver is a pro but Ash learned some from him… maybe the next time we go to the river, Ash will want to swim. He’s still a baby. Thanks so much for your comment! 🙂

  1. In my unprofessional opinion, these are great! The lighting is good, the color is spot-on, depth of field is just right. Very cute photo shoot! I love Oliver searching for a rock.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

