The Swamp-Leaf Pool Monster! Run for Your Life…. ;)

The Swamp-Leaf Pool Monster. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 2012.

Memorial Day weekend, I found myself experimenting with portraiture while my kids and the rest of the family played in the pool. My niece Ashlynn was kind enough to be my model. I came up with all kinds of quirky ideas for creating various portraits. I let my imagination run wild… I tried to think like a child. This particular portrait is my favorite of all that I shot. I noticed some fallen leaves in the pool and decided that they would make a fantastic prop. I positioned two of them to my liking and then had Ashlynn hold the largest one over her eye. I have no real explanation as to why I wanted to try this out except that I was loving the brilliant colors of the leafs as they contrasted against her dark hair. It was right then and there that I decided she was a leafy-swamp monster.

Unlike my “normal” editing, I decided to tweak this photograph in Photoshop in order to practice my editing skills. Due to a serendipitous encounter with a photographer at the vet, I will soon (in July) be a second camera at my first official wedding shoot. I am nervous but excited about the future. I once stated that I did not wish to photograph weddings; however, the opportunity present itself and I feel as if I am in need of learning. I’m anxious, but ready to move on… to move on in this journey of becoming a “professional.” 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next blogg-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends 🙂

11 thoughts on “The Swamp-Leaf Pool Monster! Run for Your Life…. ;)

    • Thank you! I used to always think like a child but am finding it more difficult as I get older… thank goodness I have my two little ones to inspire me and help me remember what it’s like to let your imagination run wild like a child! Thank you so much for your comment 🙂

    • Love the Andy Goldsworthy reference! I wasn’t thinking of him at the time… but, Goldsworthy is a great connection! And, you’ve actually helped spark ideas for my future portrait fun. Thanks for the comment (and fantastic reference) 🙂

  1. Gorgeous… isn’t playing “what if?” fun! And congrats, on landing your first “professional” gig… that’s a good thing!

    • Yes, so much fun! You never know what will happen when you play the “what if” game… it leads to many many ideas! Thank you! I’m excited about this gig… but I have to learn how to use a flash in one month… I think I can do it though… I’ll mostly be using my camera without a flash since the wedding is outside. Just needed for when it gets really dark. Thanks so much for the feedback and encouragement! 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

