Taking My Photography to the Next Level…

AND my latest photographic adventure…

Hank!!!!!

So far, while on this PAID photographic journey of mine, I have assisted in shooting one wedding and taken photographs at a one year old’s birthday party. I’m a still a newbie, you might say. A couple of weeks ago, I was given the opportunity to photograph a dear friend of mine’s 15 moth old boy, Hank. I guess you could say it was my first “professional” experience being paid to take portraits but, I take so many portraits of my own children and niece, that it didn’t really feel like my first experience. The photo shoot went so smoothly! Hank was a terrific baby to work with. He was calm and chill and playful. You never know how babies are going to be (I know how my kids can be lol), so I brought along some bubbles and a red truck for him to have some fun with. However, he was so good that I didn’t really need to pull out my bag of tricks. I brought them out anyways tho… just for fun. My dear friend Heather wanted to meet in a park, and I thought the scenery would make a perfect backdrop for some child and family portraits. After awhile, Hank took off to explore the infinite playground (our world) and I had to run ahead, stoop down, shoot as many shots as I could before he caught up with me and then begin the whole process over again. Don’t worry, I’ve gotten really good at this method due to my determination to photograph my wild kids and always-on-the-move niece. 🙂

I have known Heather for a long time (since high school… maybe even middle school). Went to college together… we used to hang out at the beach together. Anyways, my point is, I loved seeing her be a mother! It’s crazy to me that all my friends have babies now. My, how the times have changed. We are so grown up now. 🙂

Throughout the shoot, I tried to vary the shots, angles and backdrops. I started off shooting in front of a thick-trunked tree. It was an okay backdrop, but the tree was so big that it blocked a lot of the gorgeous morning light. I ended up loving the lighting I found when I placed Hank on a bench. I stood up-close-and-personal and also further away. In addition, Heather wanted some family photographs, so we ventured to a more private and heavily populated with trees area for those shots.

Please take a moment to view these photographs and let me know what you think… of my first paid experience photographing children. Makes me proud! I know there is still a lot to learn, but I love seeing how much I evolve each time I feel pressure to create a series of photographs for a client. It’s all about the EXPERIENCE. It’s a PROCESS! I’ve even had to enhance my editing skills to keep up with the rest of the portrait photographers out there. But, it’s been a blast so far and I hope more opportunities arise… 🙂

SIDE NOTE:   I have finally created my photography website!! I am officially titling myself a “professional” now as I am slowly but, surely, creating and expanding my business. I’m excited for the future! Please take a moment to check out my site and let me know what you think! I was going for clean and simple in terms of design… I wanted it to look professional and be easy to navigate.

www.pollynance.com

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

Peace, love until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Taking My Photography to the Next Level…

  1. These are lovely, Polly.
    I’m excited for you! The link to your website doesn’t seem to work for me but I typed in the URL and your website is really beautiful. Congratulations! I love the clean look of both your sights, the photography is beautifully emphasized.

  2. So happy to get this post, haven’t seen anything from you in a while. I think all of the individual baby portraits are perfect – you really capture his personality. I think using them will get you a lot of paid gigs. (You know how new parents are!) You’ve got a real gift for capturing the child’s essence.

    • Thanks so much! I’ve been SO busy lately… I think I might have to aim for one post a week cause I’m too overwhelmed trying to post multiple posts in a week. I’m so glad you enjoyed these photographs 🙂

  3. You’re off to a great start, Polly… I like the site; it was a little slow to load but I’m chalking that up to my son, who is busily downloading video while working on his eBay store.

  4. What beautiful family portraits, and little Hank is adorable!! Your website looks really nice, I checked it out yesterday, very easy to navigate, and very professional looking! You’re on your way!! 🙂

    • Thank you Holly! Hank is a pretty cool dude. Thank you for checking out my website… So glad to hear you think it looks professional! I’m on my way… now, how to get more business lol. Thanks for the feedback, Holly 🙂

    • Yes I’ve been SO busy!! Thank you so much for checking out my site… it means a lot! I’m glad it looks simple but not too simple… I tried to find a way to draw attention to just the photos. Thank you so much for the feedback 🙂 P.S. I plan on getting back to you about the iphonography challenge as soon as I get a spare moment 🙂

Let me know what you are thinking :)

