My Latest Photographic Adventure: Corporate Headshots !!

Polly Nance. 2012.

A couple of weeks ago, I received a text from a dear friend asking me if I would be available to shoot corporate headshots for her friend’s company. They needed someone ASAP because their photographer called in sick and cancelled on them. I was hesitant at first because I had never done anything like this before. I’ve shot portraits galore, but never indoors with a flash or lights. I stray away from studio settings normally. I let the girl know my lack-of-experience in taking headshots, but they were desperate… so they hired me!

I immediately googled corporate headshots to see what I was getting myself into. Most were taken with a studio setup… backdrop, lights, etc. Some weren’t, but most were. However, I felt brave and up for a challenge, so I packed my camera bag immediately and rushed over there!

I felt very out of place wearing my converse sneakers and walking into a suited corporate world. She said hurry so… I hurried! Lol. Anyways, they were very welcoming and extremely delighted that I was able to come last minute. I gave it my all and did my very best with my flash (I’m still getting used to it). I took the photographs over today and they were extremely pleased with the results! It made my day to see their faces light up as they flipped through them on the computer (I was shaking in my boots actually until I saw their expressions). All in all it was a great experience and I’m so thankful for the unexpected opportunity to shoot these corporate headshots. It forced me out of my comfort zone, made me more confident and allowed me to gain experience in which to learn from. I am proud of myself and the final photographs. I know these aren’t too exciting, but they are documents of a memorable moment I had on this photographic journey…

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Polly Nance. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends! 🙂

16 thoughts on “My Latest Photographic Adventure: Corporate Headshots !!

  1. These are fabulous portraits. No wonder they were pleased. I bet you put everybody at ease as they all look so relaxed. Good for you for taking the challenge.

  2. Excellent Polly, don’t stop there. Now you have your first taste AND you have a bunch of pics for a portfolio, maybe you should stat thinking about branching out. I hope you charged this company for your time and expertise. The HS’s are well worth the money. Congratulations fro Wales!!

  3. Hey Polly, these are super! The lighting is great and the folks look totally comfortable. Posed portraits are/can be extremely difficult to get a natural look. You did well indeed!!!
    You should be proud of yourself!!!

    • Thank you so much! I guess they do look comfortable lol. I’m glad cause it was a tiny room!! This type of photography was indeed a challenge but Im proud of myself for giving it a whirl. Thanks so much for your feedback. 🙂

  4. I think these worked out much better than the usual corporate photos – the people look very natural and relaxed, you must have been relating to them really well. Even the group shot is free from stiffness. No wonder they were delighted.

Let me know what you are thinking :)

