My Darkroom Class Starts Tomorrow!!!

Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Ceiling. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Ceiling. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Tomorrow night begins my adventures in the darkroom! I’m so excited I can barely contain myself! In the meantime, I thought it’d be fun to post some of my latest rolls of film I shot with my Canon AE-1. These shots come from two types of film made by a company called Revolog. I purchased a multi-pack, so each roll creates a different special effect. If you’ve never experimented with Revolog films (and you have a film camera), I highly recommend it because you never really know what the results will be. Sometimes, I love what occurs and sometimes I don’t… but that is why it’s so fun!! For instance, I have learned that the roll creating the beams of colored light does not work so well for portraits. The beams get in the way of the face, but it still creates cool effects and would probably be really fun with landscapes. I still have other rolls to play around with but I’m going to have to save them for after my darkroom class. The class is going to teach us how to develop black and white film. Anyways, I hope you enjoy these quirky shots of our family’s trip to the family farm. We planted (or they did… I documented this moment) pecan and apple trees for the family to use. I think it’ll be awhile before they are able to produce their fruits, but I look forward to that day. Hope y’all had a great weekend and I look forward to sharing my darkroom adventures with all my readers! GO FALCONS!

Happy Adeline and a Ball. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Happy Adeline and a Ball. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

May the Force Be with You. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

May the Force Be with You. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lola at the Intersection of two Blue Beams of Light. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lola at the Intersection of two Blue Beams of Light. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Rush and a Shovel. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Rush and a Shovel. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Hole Is Ready for a Tree. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Hole Is Ready for a Tree. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Curious Adeline. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Curious Adeline. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Helping Hands. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Helping Hands. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline Casting Spells. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline Casting Spells. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Gettin' Down to Business. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Gettin’ Down to Business. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

A Cowboy Planting Trees. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

A Cowboy Planting Trees. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Straw on the Ground. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Straw on the Ground. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Light and Some Pretty Weeds. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Light and Some Pretty Weeds. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Rides Along. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Rides Along. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Cousins Planting Trees Together. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Cousins Planting Trees Together. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Trees in Tignal. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Trees in Tignal. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Runs. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Runs. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

A Planted Tree. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

A Planted Tree. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Cute Adeline. Polly Nance. 2012.

Cute Adeline. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Lone Weeds. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Lone Weeds. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Tired Cowboy. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

The Tired Cowboy. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline and a Giant Stick. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline and a Giant Stick. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline Eats. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Adeline Eats. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Eats. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Lennon Eats. Film photograph. Polly Nance. 2012.

Thank you for taking the time to visit and view my blog!

As always, please feel free to leave any and all feedback.

PEACE, LOVE until my next bloggy-blog post, dear fellow blog-readin’ friends. 🙂

9 thoughts on “My Darkroom Class Starts Tomorrow!!!

  1. You’re going to have so much fun. When my children were small, I had my own darkroom, and I spent hours and hours working with black-and-white film negatives. Color enlarger was prohibitively expensive. That’s the glory of digital. But there is no greater pleasure than the emergence of an image from a negative–that slow emergence of the print. Today my only hesitation is the chemicals. Please consider wearing a mask unless the ventilation is state-of-the-arts.

    • Wow you had your own darkroom? That’s amazing. I’d probably never get out of there if I had one. I’m looking forward to the class and I will most definitely look into wearing a mask. When I got a tour of the darkroom, the man told me that the chemicals have evolved and they no longer have that strong odor, etc but I will ask about wearing a mask! Thank you for your comment 🙂

  2. Wow, that film is wild. Interesting possibilities – I guess as you get a sense of each type of film you can apply it to different situations, this might be an interesting film for night exposures.
    Darkroom work is intriguing. Enjoy! : )

    • Yep, it is most definitely wild!!!!! I think you are right, once the film is developed and I see what special effects each roll can produce I’ll use it differently. I will not use the beams of light one for pictures with Santa lol (like I did and you can’t see a darn thing!). It would be interesting at night though! Thanks for the fabulous idea! Thanks so much for your comment 🙂

  3. IS just committed B&W photo class at York College. Was very cool learning to develop and print. I start color film and digital this term. Decided to minor in photography.
    That film you used is pretty cool. Might have to get some. The Tired Cowboy photo is great!

      • Lol you were probably committed to the class too. Ha! Typos are funny. I wish I had had the opportunity to take photo classes in college. I never took a single one! I took one back in HS but that was 11 years ago lol. Thanks so much for your comment and best of luck to you with color! Sounds like a fun class 🙂

  4. I am incredibly behind on reading posts!! I hope you are having an awesome time in your class!! I took a photography class in high school (not sure if I mentioned that to you before or not) – we got to use SLR cameras and b&w film, and the school had a darkroom. I failed the class. 😦 Maybe if I had done a good job back then, I would have been learning about photography for the past 20 years! But, instead, I waited 20 years!!

Let me know what you are thinking :)

