The Real Garfield…

…only a little less fat and prettier!! Meet my cat Chance… who my son refers to as Garfield (seriously… he doesn’t know his real name):

Lazy Day Yawn. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

These photographs were taken yesterday afternoon in my backyard. I was photographing some fallen flowers when I spotted my cat, Chance, in the background. He looked at me as if he wanted me to take his picture. And so I did… and boy, did that cat pose. Seriously, he knew I was admiring him through the camera lens. He would sit so still and beautiful and then roll on his back… always looking back to make sure I was watching. He is hilarious. I love love Love this cat. For these photographs, I set my camera to manual focus and turned off the flash. I wanted to fool around with bokeh some more, so I used Chance as my subject. And in case you were wondering folks, cause I know you probably were, his coat is as soft as it looks in the photographs. He’s one fluffy and an awesome, friendly cat! But a whiner… like Garfield… he is very vocal. Please feel free to leave any and all feedback! I hope you enjoy!

Greenish Cat-Eyes Seduce the Viewer. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

Sunlight Showering Upon Orange Fluff. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Motion of Cat Lounging. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

I Know I am Beautiful, So I’ll Let You Take My Picture. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 10 x 8 inches.

Posing for the Camera is Tranquilizing. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

The Clarity Is in the Flowers. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

An Untruthful and Accidental Photograph of a Nice Cat. Polly Nance. Digital photograph. 8 x 10 inches.

THANK YOU FOR TAKING THE TIME TO STOP BY AND VIEW MY BLOG!

PEACE, LOVE UNTIL MY NEXT PHOTOGRAPHICAL BLOGGY-BLOG POST, DEAR FELLOW BLOG READIN’ FRIENDS! Ā šŸ™‚

39 thoughts on “The Real Garfield…

  1. First of all thank you for visiting my blog, and I am so glad to meet with you and especially with your photography. Your cat, Chance, more beautiful and lovely than Garfield šŸ™‚ You captured such a beautiful photographs of him. Good Luck for your photography with your camera, I loved them all. Thank you and Blessing and happiness for you all, with my love, nia

    • Thank you so very much for the kind feedback. Chance is quite the handsome boy… I can tell I’m improving because my photographs of him from last year were not nearly as good. šŸ™‚ Thank you also for stopping by my blog. Nice to meet you as well and hope you’ll come back!

  2. Oh, he reminds me of a dear boy from my past…another Garfield look-alike called Whiskey. He, too, was a vocal ham.

    Thanks for talking about how you approached these fine images.

  3. Fantastic post, fabulous pictures. I too like The Clarity Is in the Flowers, yet An Untruthful and Accidental Photograph is so striking and special.

    Thank-you for visiting my blog, and for the like! Miaow!

  4. Your photography is very impressive, but I am especially partial to these shots! Sooo preciuos, they almost made me misty-eyed!..I could just picure how you described the “shoot”…You probably guessed it by now, I love my cat dearly as well…Anyone who love love loves their cat is cool by me!

    • Thank you so much!!! Yeah I’m a cat lover… but we had to kick poor Chance outside when he wouldn’t quit urinating on our furniture… I fought for him to stay inside for years… but it got old so now he is outside. AND loving it I might add! He always brings us special “gifts” to our doorstep šŸ™‚

Let me know what you are thinking :)